Yeast Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
For the person who wondered why their doughnuts didn't rise... this recipe isn't very specific about the temperature of the liquid to be mixed into the yeast/flour mixture. The instruction "until butter melts" could end up with the liquid too hot and that will kill the yeast. Use an instant read or candy thermometer and check that the liquid is at around 120°F-130°F for "rapid rise" active dry yeast 110°F-115°F for regular active dry yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Photo by CURRYCOOKS
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This is a good recipe for anyone wanting to make donuts similar to your local donuts shop. They are not cake donuts and if they turn out like that, then you didn't make them correctly. I recommend microwaving the milk, butter & sugar one minute or until luke-warm to avoid killing the yeast when you add it to your dry ingredients. You may need to let the doughnuts rise longer than the recipe calls for. Also make sure that you are using good yeast that hasn't expired. It's all about the rise and that they are cooked properly. I recommend using a thermostat controlled deep fryer to accurately fry these doughnuts just a little bit past golden brown. Let them cool down before you coat them. They are excellent with glaze, powdered sugar & various flavors of cake icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This is my favorite recipe so far and I have gotten a lot of compliments on this recipe and everyone has asked me for it that has tasted the doughnuts. I did dissolve the yeast in 1/4 cup of lukewarm water instead of using a mixer, you may have to increase the flour if you use this method, and let rise till double, then shape or cut, then let rise again. I also used a glaze of 3 cups powdered sugar, and 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla, and 3-4 tablespoons milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Very good. I probably could have let them rise a bit longer to make them fluffier, though- the next day they were a bit hard already. I used the suggestion of using confectioner sugar and milk to make an icing, but I also used about half confectioner sugar, half chocolate milk mix. I only wish I had waited until the doughnuts were cool before dipping them into the icing, because the icing melted on them right away, covering the overall doughnut rather than making a nice-looking icing. Overall, very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2001
These were delicious! You've got to try these! Smelling them cook was almost as good as eating them. I coated some with cinnamon sugar in a ziploc bag, and dipped the rest in glaze. YUMMY! My son wants me to make a batch for his 1st grade class at school. I would suggest just a variety of doughnut holes for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hubbard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I followed directions perfectly and waited 3 hours for the dough to rise. Never did. Will throw this recipe out. Never will try this one again. It does not even rate a 1 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
The recipe did not rise. Someone might happen get some good results possibly from this, but very bad directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
it was ok i just think it could have tasted better, they got really hard quick. Also they just had a really doughy taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usafmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Great recipe it's very similar to one I have been using for years. A tip for first timers: the side that you have facing up while rising turn them over and deep fry that side down first and it will help the doughnuts rise better and they wont turn out as cake like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
they were bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States