Yeast Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
they were bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
one of the best doughnut recipe I have ever tried! and most important,my kids helped me and love to eat them too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2001
These were delicious! You've got to try these! Smelling them cook was almost as good as eating them. I coated some with cinnamon sugar in a ziploc bag, and dipped the rest in glaze. YUMMY! My son wants me to make a batch for his 1st grade class at school. I would suggest just a variety of doughnut holes for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hubbard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
Great tasting! The dough needs to rise twice so be sure to plan ahead. These were very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This is my favorite recipe so far and I have gotten a lot of compliments on this recipe and everyone has asked me for it that has tasted the doughnuts. I did dissolve the yeast in 1/4 cup of lukewarm water instead of using a mixer, you may have to increase the flour if you use this method, and let rise till double, then shape or cut, then let rise again. I also used a glaze of 3 cups powdered sugar, and 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla, and 3-4 tablespoons milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
I had to watch them very carefully when I was cooking as they went brown very quickly, but these were yummy. Some with a blob of jam in the centre were yummier still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
The taste was great, but these didn't raise well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
Emtmom said you can may dip them in chocolate glaze but did not give the recipe for chocolate glaze? why not Emtmom? please send it to me . I sure would like to make your doughnuts useing the chocolate glaze thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
My husband made your yeast doughnuts recipe and the dough did not raise. He said he followed the recipe and the yeast was just purchased a few days ago and was fresh. We are wondering what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
For the person who wondered why their doughnuts didn't rise... this recipe isn't very specific about the temperature of the liquid to be mixed into the yeast/flour mixture. The instruction "until butter melts" could end up with the liquid too hot and that will kill the yeast. Use an instant read or candy thermometer and check that the liquid is at around 120°F-130°F for "rapid rise" active dry yeast 110°F-115°F for regular active dry yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States