Yeast Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Very good. I probably could have let them rise a bit longer to make them fluffier, though- the next day they were a bit hard already. I used the suggestion of using confectioner sugar and milk to make an icing, but I also used about half confectioner sugar, half chocolate milk mix. I only wish I had waited until the doughnuts were cool before dipping them into the icing, because the icing melted on them right away, covering the overall doughnut rather than making a nice-looking icing. Overall, very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
it was ok i just think it could have tasted better, they got really hard quick. Also they just had a really doughy taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usafmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
These tasted pretty good but I wish that they had risen better. Unlike suggested by other reviewers, the milk and butter mixture was not too hot causing yeast death and I allowed them to rise for double the time required once rolled out and they still did not rise enough. They did puff a bit more in the oil but they were a little heavier than I would have liked. I was looking for a very light-textured puffy doughnut and this was not it. My kids liked the taste though and loved rolling them in cinnamon sugar and dipping them into chocolate glaze; so if I can't find a perfect light and puffy doughnut recipe we will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
These doughnuts came out tasty, light and not too sweet. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
this is a recipe that I will not try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
For the person who wondered why their doughnuts didn't rise... this recipe isn't very specific about the temperature of the liquid to be mixed into the yeast/flour mixture. The instruction "until butter melts" could end up with the liquid too hot and that will kill the yeast. Use an instant read or candy thermometer and check that the liquid is at around 120°F-130°F for "rapid rise" active dry yeast 110°F-115°F for regular active dry yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
My husband made your yeast doughnuts recipe and the dough did not raise. He said he followed the recipe and the yeast was just purchased a few days ago and was fresh. We are wondering what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
Emtmom said you can may dip them in chocolate glaze but did not give the recipe for chocolate glaze? why not Emtmom? please send it to me . I sure would like to make your doughnuts useing the chocolate glaze thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
The taste was great, but these didn't raise well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
I had to watch them very carefully when I was cooking as they went brown very quickly, but these were yummy. Some with a blob of jam in the centre were yummier still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States