Ye Ole Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This is a delicious gingerbread. I happened to have some golden syrup I brought back from Australia, so I was fortunate enough to be able to follow the recipe exactly. It was just right, and stayed nice and moist for several days. Delicious with butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
I tried this recipe yesterday the bread is exactly what I was hoping for. It is moist and firm, holding together when sliced and even when buttered. I did use two tablespoons of ginger instead of the recommended one, but that was the only change I made to the recipe. It rose beautifully in the bread pan and makes a fine big loaf. I won't look any farther than this for a gingerbread recipe. This is first-rate!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Very moist loaf. Really good recipe. I used a lemon sauce for the cut slices. I used corn syrup for the golden syrup because I wasn't sure what golden syrup is either. I also added 1/2 tsp of pumpkin spice and 3 tsp of cinnamon sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
absolutely delicious especially with french roast coffee on a cold morning, simply wonderful my son enjoyed it with milk, great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
After reading the other reviews, I decided to search for golden syrup so I could use the ingredients called for in the original recipe. I called a few gourmet and "world market-type" food stores and found it quite easily. Lyle's Golden Syrup is a popular brand most all of them carried and not terribly expensive, either. This gingerbread was absolutely delicious. It smells wonderful while baking and produces a thick, moist loaf. The only change I made was to increase the ginger to 2 Tablespoons. I believe I will be using this recipe from now on. Try it and see for yourself - you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Gingerbread came out awesome!! Next time I plan on adding crystallised ginger and more allspice, but as is, this is great, a nice moist recipe, and its true, there was no hard crust! I used a mixture of the good old Chelsea golden syrup and some real maple syrup (we were running low on the golden syrup LOL) and it came out just lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Makes a very dense, heavy loaf, but has a wonderful flavor and is absolutely delicious the next day slathered with butter. I loved it! By the way, I did not have golden syrup so I used molasses in its stead. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I found Lyle's Golden Syrup in the syrup aisle of QFC (grocery store chain in my region). I made this for dipping into chocolate fondue at a Xmas party. Major YUM!!! If serving for company, bake the day of; your house will smell terrific for hours! A holiday keeper for my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
In order to help when looking for the ingredients, golden syrup is the English reference to molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Absolutely wonderful!! I was a bit skeptical about a gingerbread recipe that didn't use molasses, and about the fact it's so light in colour (I like the look of a dense, dark gingerbread loaf). But this is AMAZING. My whole family loves it. The texture is perfect...I made 12 muffins instead, and baked them at 350 for about 20 minutes. The outside was a tiny bit crispy and the insides were dense but very moist. Made a test batch yesterday and will make a triple recipe today! (BTW, I used Rogers golden syrup...easy to find in Canada).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Gingerbread

It’s practically the official flavor and aroma of the holidays.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States