Ye Ole Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Love this bread. Used karo syrup instead of golden syrup still tasted great. Great for Christmas treats. Not an over ginger flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marysville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Easy and great. If someone doesn't like it then they must have made it wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I baked this loaf today and it was heavy, and had absolutely no ginger taste, in fact it had no taste at all and the house did not smell of any ginger or allspice while baking and that should have been my first clue about this recipe. As far as no hard crust goes it was like sawing through a piece of wood. I am sooooo disappointed. The only positive is no creaming was necessary, technique easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary D.
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Really great. I used molasses instead of golden syrup and the taste is mild but very gingerbready. I baked it in a glass bread pan for about 63 minutes and it came out crusty and crunchy all around and moist and cakey inside. The technique of boiling the butter, sugar, milk and molasses was one I'd not used before but it was so easy. Thanks for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This was amazing, everyone was raving about it. Moist and flavorful. I didn't have golden syrup instead substituting molasses and corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Not the taste of gingerbread. I wouldn't make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Made it exactly to directions. Excellent!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I had great success with this recipe and I give it as gifts at Christmas. I did make a couple of changes ... I added 1 tsp of cinnamon; increased the ginger to 2 tbsp; swapped out the white sugar for 1 cup of brown sugar. Thank you for sharing this nice, old-fashioned bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This recipe is very moist, full of flavour. I used half molasses, half honey as I could not get a hold of Golden Syrup. Was a great substitute. So far, every who has tried this loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marljong
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Great gingerbread! I added an egg, salt, molasses, lemon zest, nutmeg and used brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Gingerbread

It’s practically the official flavor and aroma of the holidays.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States