Ye Ole Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
this turned out SO GOOD! Rather than golden syrup, I used 2 parts molasses and 1 part corn syrup in its place. I did have come clumping/curdling in the pot, but I went with it and it was fine. I only needed to bake it about 45 minutes, too. The only thing I'd do differently is not flour the pan so much - maybe spray would have been enough on its own, as the flour got caked onto the loaf in a few places.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Do not expect this to taste like most gingerbreads, which are yummy but taste mostly like molasses and cinnamon. This is a very nice variation and a great counterbalance to all of the cinnamon-heavy autumn recipes. To make it slightly healthier, I used half butter half coconut oil, whole wheat pastry flour, and for the golden syrup I went with 2 TBS agave syrup + 1 TBS blackstrap molasses. I couldn't resist doubling the ginger, because I love that flavor. I did resist the urge to add egg and cinnamon, and I am glad I resisted. It is a fragrant and scrumptious, moist, truly ginger-bread. Thank you for this really wonderful recipe. P.S. I am going to try the boiling rather than creaming technique on some other quick breads and see what happens :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Love this bread. Used karo syrup instead of golden syrup still tasted great. Great for Christmas treats. Not an over ginger flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Jones Eveland
Home Town: Marysville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Easy and great. If someone doesn't like it then they must have made it wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I baked this loaf today and it was heavy, and had absolutely no ginger taste, in fact it had no taste at all and the house did not smell of any ginger or allspice while baking and that should have been my first clue about this recipe. As far as no hard crust goes it was like sawing through a piece of wood. I am sooooo disappointed. The only positive is no creaming was necessary, technique easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary D.
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Really great. I used molasses instead of golden syrup and the taste is mild but very gingerbready. I baked it in a glass bread pan for about 63 minutes and it came out crusty and crunchy all around and moist and cakey inside. The technique of boiling the butter, sugar, milk and molasses was one I'd not used before but it was so easy. Thanks for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This was amazing, everyone was raving about it. Moist and flavorful. I didn't have golden syrup instead substituting molasses and corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Not the taste of gingerbread. I wouldn't make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Made it exactly to directions. Excellent!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I had great success with this recipe and I give it as gifts at Christmas. I did make a couple of changes ... I added 1 tsp of cinnamon; increased the ginger to 2 tbsp; swapped out the white sugar for 1 cup of brown sugar. Thank you for sharing this nice, old-fashioned bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Gingerbread

It’s practically the official flavor and aroma of the holidays.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States