Yazdi Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
These are great! I would have given them a 4.5 if possible. They are very rich and would probably be better in smaller portions. Making them in Madeleine pans would be fabulous. Or you could just reduce the butter. Here's what I did: I HALVED the recipe, didn't heat the eggs and sugar in a double boiler (too lazy), used 1/2t cardamon, didn't add pistachios (didn't have any), and added 2T more sugar. I think the recipe probably doesn't need more sugar, but in the future I would reduce the butter and make the cakes in Madeleine tins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I made a no nuts version and substituted vanilla flavored yogurt for the plain. They came out great. I will make them again. They were not hard to make either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELLEOXFORD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I made this cake and it tastes amazing!!!! I had gotten the recipe for this cake in the past and it never tasted the same. I think the fact that this recipe has yogurt instead of milk and has rose water makes it so good! I absolutely loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I usually use 1 1/2 cup AP flour and 1/2 cup rice flour. It just gives it a depth of flavor that you can otherwise only get when buying these from the city of Yazd itself. I don't do the whole eggs and sugar over heat thing either but I make sure that my eggs are room-temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
We made this as a group in our elementary History class and everyone loved it, kids and adults too! Very easy too...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I used Greek yogurt and this recipe was delicious. I didn't get the whole effect since I left out the rose water... don't own any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I was a little worried that it wasn't going to go right because the egg and sugar part didn't come out correctly and I used self-rising gluten free flour. But they were absolutely delicious and my roommate who doesn't like stuff she doesn't know loved them. I would suggest anyone to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This are the best muffins I have made,please do follow the recipe,I made half and they turned out delicious. I am from Yazd and this recipe is the closest anyone can get,thank you so much for sharing.i have made these at least a dozen times now and my mom bought some yazdi cakes from a Persian bakery and these are way better than the ones from the bakery,just follow the recipe and the outcome is delicious and worth the effort,I bake them a few minutes extra so they are nice and golden brown,just keep a close watch as every oven is different.definitely a keeper forever and ever:) thank you once again:):)oh and I did sprinkle saffron along with the pistachios.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fauzia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I tried the recipe step by step as in instructions, and the result was amazing. It tastes exactly like original yazdi cakes from home, the same shape, same texture, same smell. It was great, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I beat for 4 mins at room temp for the sugar and egg mixture. I added chopped walnuts instead and they came out fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XxlilaxX

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

How to Make Mummy Cakes

Transform chocolate cupcakes into spooky mummy faces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States