Yankee Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I love this recipe as well however I also add 2 kiwis, 2 different types of apples preferably a granny smith and a red delicious, and 2 bananas. I also don't add the cherries until last because they can change the color of the mixture to red - nice if you want that but I don't. Also, if you are like me and can't handle too much sweet double the amount of fruit and pasta for a double portion of salad and it won't be overly sweet. Or I suppose you can use splenda or stevia in place of the sugar but I haven't tried that yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
WOW!!! I worked the primary election on Tuesday and made this for my dish to bring. It definitely makes a HUGE bowl, but guess what? I had none left to bring home! And I have never had so many ask for a recipe before. And when asked what was in it, they were amazed to find out it had orzo. Absolutely the best lightest refreshing dessert. A MUST TRY!!! Yummo...Thank you so much for this recipe and I will be making it alot. Claudia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I made this salad according to the directions. I really didn't care for it. I'm not sure if it was a texture issue with the orzo or just the fact that it was pasta in a sweet salad. I didn't think the orzo went with the salad. I won't make it again. I must add that some of the people that tried it really loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Williston, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Made it for the fourth and even though it made a lot I had none left and several requests for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I haven't even let this sit properly & I still love it...added strawberries, blackberries & bing cherries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This is delicious as written but it is fun to add other fruits if you'd like. I did cut this recipe in half and it easily serves 6. Don't make the full recipe unless you're cooking for an army. I did eventually start using Acini Di Pepe Pasta, we like the smaller, round pasta better than the orzo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Lash

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This is very similar to one I make called "frogeye salad" - everyone loves it! The differences are: instead of orzo, mine uses half a package of Acine De Pepi (hard to find). I also use one less egg, and instead of the big can of crushed pineapple, a small can of crushed and a big can of chunks. And I usually put in a bigger can of mandarin oranges. Then, I only put about 2/3 of the whipped cream in and use the remainder to top the whole thing and then drop the cherries on top in a festive pattern - it's particularly cool in my blue bowl for the fourth (blue bowl, white background, red stripes of cherries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This is some seriously good stuff! Had it in Michigan at a party, asked the hostess what was in it. Then came back here and found the recipe!! Who knew, orzo and fruit!! Even hubby finally tried it and said it was good. Couldn't be easier, thanks Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I really liked this. I had some left over cooked angel hair pasta so I used my pastry cutter in a big bowl and cut the noodles all into little bits. Then put the rest of the ingredients. I did 1/2 everything and it still makes enough for about 10 people. Great way to use up noodles not used for the dinner. Thank you so much Linda for posting this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This was very good, the only thing I didn't care for was it was a lot and if your not gonna eat it all at once its gonna go to waste but I would make again for a party this way I know its all gonna get ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States