Yankee Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by janet7th
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Very, very good. I have two little girls who tend to be wary of new things but all of us enjoyed this tonight. I an an experienced cook but had never made beans from scratch before. I had the bone left over from our Easter ham and wanted to try something other than pea soup this time. I had left quite a bit of meat on the bone so this made a nice meal in a bowl for us. I'll make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
We LOVED these! They are not as sweet as the baked beans from the can, but the perfect sweetness and spice! Yum, Yum, I will make these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
This is a good one. If you prefer sweet and sour to spicey try it with a little more vinegar and no hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
I have been making beans for many yrs. And without a doubt,the Yankee Beans are the best. Everybody loves them and wanted the recipe. I only left out the final seasoning, vinegar & hot pepper. Thank you Fine2THComb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Freakin awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I had a ham bone with a good amount of meat on it, plus leftover ham, so I sauteed and added the ham instead of bacon. Toward the end of cooking - I felt it was a bit bland, so I added some molasses and a bit more brown sugar to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I recieved many compliments on this dish. I did not use any meat, however, and rather used soy substitute and beef bullion. Be careful when adding the vinegar, if you use it at all. I followed the recipe and added it, only to find it soured the taste. To balance the taste, I had to add some ketchup and brown sugar, so that the vinegar wouldn't overpower the sweet and beefy taste. Some advice: taste as you go and add a little bit of everything at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I added some molasses and brown sugar to the recipe. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef-in-Training

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Excellent recipe. I added mine to a favourite chili recipe the next day. I would let the beans cook much longer next time. They were a bit chewy although we've never had home cooked beans before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cochrane, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I love beans this isnt bad. The only change I made was with the bacon I went a healthier route on that. I use a smoke turkey leg or turkey wings for my meat and flavoring. I boil the turkey leg for about 5 minutes since it was precooked cooled it pulled it apart added it to my beans. I also drained and strained the broth from that and added it to my soup broth as it cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States