Yankee Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I had a ham bone with a good amount of meat on it, plus leftover ham, so I sauteed and added the ham instead of bacon. Toward the end of cooking - I felt it was a bit bland, so I added some molasses and a bit more brown sugar to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
I have been making beans for many yrs. And without a doubt,the Yankee Beans are the best. Everybody loves them and wanted the recipe. I only left out the final seasoning, vinegar & hot pepper. Thank you Fine2THComb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
This is a good one. If you prefer sweet and sour to spicey try it with a little more vinegar and no hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janet7th
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Very, very good. I have two little girls who tend to be wary of new things but all of us enjoyed this tonight. I an an experienced cook but had never made beans from scratch before. I had the bone left over from our Easter ham and wanted to try something other than pea soup this time. I had left quite a bit of meat on the bone so this made a nice meal in a bowl for us. I'll make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I recieved many compliments on this dish. I did not use any meat, however, and rather used soy substitute and beef bullion. Be careful when adding the vinegar, if you use it at all. I followed the recipe and added it, only to find it soured the taste. To balance the taste, I had to add some ketchup and brown sugar, so that the vinegar wouldn't overpower the sweet and beefy taste. Some advice: taste as you go and add a little bit of everything at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Freakin awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I reduced the bacon to 1/4 pound and increased the ham by about 1/4 pound. Depending on how much ham you think there should have been on the bone. I would decrease the amount of vinegar slightly, too. Otherwise, this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I added some molasses and brown sugar to the recipe. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef-in-Training

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I love beans this isnt bad. The only change I made was with the bacon I went a healthier route on that. I use a smoke turkey leg or turkey wings for my meat and flavoring. I boil the turkey leg for about 5 minutes since it was precooked cooled it pulled it apart added it to my beans. I also drained and strained the broth from that and added it to my soup broth as it cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
We LOVED these! They are not as sweet as the baked beans from the can, but the perfect sweetness and spice! Yum, Yum, I will make these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States