Yankee Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I had a ham bone with a good amount of meat on it, plus leftover ham, so I sauteed and added the ham instead of bacon. Toward the end of cooking - I felt it was a bit bland, so I added some molasses and a bit more brown sugar to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
I have been making beans for many yrs. And without a doubt,the Yankee Beans are the best. Everybody loves them and wanted the recipe. I only left out the final seasoning, vinegar & hot pepper. Thank you Fine2THComb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
This is a good one. If you prefer sweet and sour to spicey try it with a little more vinegar and no hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I recieved many compliments on this dish. I did not use any meat, however, and rather used soy substitute and beef bullion. Be careful when adding the vinegar, if you use it at all. I followed the recipe and added it, only to find it soured the taste. To balance the taste, I had to add some ketchup and brown sugar, so that the vinegar wouldn't overpower the sweet and beefy taste. Some advice: taste as you go and add a little bit of everything at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janet7th
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Very, very good. I have two little girls who tend to be wary of new things but all of us enjoyed this tonight. I an an experienced cook but had never made beans from scratch before. I had the bone left over from our Easter ham and wanted to try something other than pea soup this time. I had left quite a bit of meat on the bone so this made a nice meal in a bowl for us. I'll make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Freakin awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I reduced the bacon to 1/4 pound and increased the ham by about 1/4 pound. Depending on how much ham you think there should have been on the bone. I would decrease the amount of vinegar slightly, too. Otherwise, this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I added some molasses and brown sugar to the recipe. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef-in-Training

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I love beans this isnt bad. The only change I made was with the bacon I went a healthier route on that. I use a smoke turkey leg or turkey wings for my meat and flavoring. I boil the turkey leg for about 5 minutes since it was precooked cooled it pulled it apart added it to my beans. I also drained and strained the broth from that and added it to my soup broth as it cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
We LOVED these! They are not as sweet as the baked beans from the can, but the perfect sweetness and spice! Yum, Yum, I will make these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States