Yam Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I love the sweetness with the spice. It's a flavorful dish, less soup but more of the consistency of a risotto dish as the rice takes up most of the liquid. I find that using wild,rice just takes too long for the rice to cook, so,stick with white rice only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
This was ok. I had to double the broth as there was not nearly enough and it was a bit too spicy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Very yummy! I fried the onions, fresh garlic (substituted garlic powder) and diced yams before putting in the soup. I think this gave the soup an extra wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I used this as a base recipe. I added more veggie broth and water to sauteed leeks and garlic. I also added some brocolli and beet greens. I tend to prefer creamier soups and I found using my food processor on a few ladels of soup when it was near done helped to "bulk up" the soup. Only 4 stars because it was a but too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Vermont, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Great soup! I doubled the broth, added rice earlier but still wasn't ready. Next time I'll rice together with yams & onions or skip the rice and add different veggies. I also added 1 lb of chicken at the beginning and 1/2 tsp of coriander and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Delicious soup. I used a mix of brown and dark wild rice and added it at the same time as the onions and sweet potatoes because it takes longer to cook. I did add additional chicken stock as the rice soaked it up. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I think this is so tasty, but I made some modifications. I used 1/4 teaspoon of curry as I don't like strong curry flavor, added a dash of cinnamon, and I added some boiled chicken to the soup, so it's yams, chicken and rice. I also pureed some of the yams/onions to add some thickness and more flavor to the broth. Also, double your liquids; 3 cups is not even close to enough broth. Tasty and rich, perfect for Fall/Winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This is a tasty soup that both my husband and I enjoyed. It was slightly sweeter than I expected (and than we both prefer), which is why it didn't get 5 stars. I used a high quality yam that was quite deep in color, which potentially contributed to the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Swinton
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Very yummy and easy to make! I used at least twice the amount of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This is a definite 5 star soup! I double the chicken broth, and lightly fried the yams before adding to the boing broth. I then sauteed the onion, adding chopped cellery and garlic cloves (about 5) for a few minutes before adding to broth, and sauteed and added a diced potato instead of rice. It has become my favorite soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Quesnel, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States