Yam Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I absolutely loved this recipe. I'm no fancy cook and the directions were easily followed. I will be using pecans and a lot more of them next time. I too, cooked it longer and it came out fabulously! I made it for a potluck so i had to make it the night before then reheat the day of. So i did the 35 minutes the day before, and another 30-40 min day of. it was the best yam dish there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Scappoose, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Very good,could've been dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy_A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I already reviewed but would add that for meal planning, I do not make this dish in the same meal as Pumpkin Pie, I find the flavors redundant, and honestly like this dish better than Pumpkin Pie. I like to pair this dish with the Grandma Ople's Apple Pie recipe on this site from user MOSHASMAMA. If I am taking a side dish to someone else's house for Thanksgiving, etc, I make sure they are not making Pumpkin Pie, because someone at the table always says, "this is better than Pumpkin Pie," and I feel badly for the host:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
My family all liked this recipe, even those that don't normally like yams. I did make one change and that was to use fresh yams instead of canned. I steamed them then continued with the recipe. I didn't think the yams were too sweet which was good because the topping is somewhat sweet, which balanced it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This will be the third year that I have been asked to bring this casserole my company's annual holiday dinner. Everyone raves about it, I follow the recipe exactly but make it for 100 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Wow! Everyone loved this - even one guest tried a small bite sure that she did not like yams. She did love it and filled a big spoon for her plate! I only wish I had found this recipe sooner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Fabulous recipe... I made it with fresh yams, left out the butter and sugar in the casserole (I thought it was sweet enough, and the texture seemed fine without the added butter). I didn't have evaporated milk, so I substituted eggnog (a bit of extra sugar in that). Also, as in other reviews, I used regular cornflakes instead of frosted flakes. It was a hit with everyone at our family gathering, and I've already passed on the recipe. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Makus Reimer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Barrhead, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
4.75 Stars! A little sweet but it was a nice alternative to regular old yam recipes. Only change I made was as another poster suggested, I used Rice Crispies vs. Frosted Corn Flakes. A huge hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Used Pecans! Crunchy, buttery goodness! And I hate yams!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Graham

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made this casserole for our Thanksgiving dinner and my family LOVED it! I did make a couple of changes which included baking the yams instead of boiling them (personal preference because I think baking brings out the natural sweetness of the yams) I used half brown and half white sugars and for the topping I used pecans (my favorite w/ yams) and rice crispy cereal (all I had). This is now my all time favorite "sweet" yam recipe! I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States