Yam Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This was the runaway hit at Christmas dinner - it was loved even by devout yam haters! I did not have white sugar, so used all brown sugar and it was still delicious. It is sweet, but no sweeter than the normal yam marshmallow concoction we usually make, so if your group digs that - this will not be too sweet for them. Again, an AMAZING yam recipe. Don't let the frosted flakes scare you off...it seems strange, but the end result is magnifique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Hi all! I am Carol Graham that submitted this recipie. I use pecans now instead of walnuts. The leftovers are only good cold, DO NOT MICROWAVE because the frosted flakes get soggy. Those of you that add marshmellows, I think that would not allow the topping to be crunchy. I do bake it a little longer, until the center is firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Did this receipe for Thanksgiving and it was a hit. It was so easy to prepare for the busy day. I did use less Frosted Flakes and it came out wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
WOW! My husband even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
The frosted corn flakes ruined it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wales, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I made this for a Thanksgiving Potluck @ work today! The dish was scraped clean and requests for the recipe have been many. This is going to be a new addition to my holiday cooking. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
This was just the best! It's so good, so addicting! I used 2# fresh yams, changed the white sugar to 1/4 c. brown sugar and used Total Brown Sugar and Oats, slightly crushed. It was fantastic. Made it for the Holidays once and EVERYONE raved, now it's a tradtional dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I cooked this for Christmas and my whole family raved about it. I was out of brown sugar, so I used all white sugar. The family didn't seem to mind one bit. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meraux, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I personally enjoyed this dish, but my guests would prefer it without the frosted flakes. So I say add them if you want to add a little crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This recipe is good but VERY VERY sweet!! I will probably make it again but use about half of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States