Yam Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Actually got my family to eat sweet potatoes! Very delicious recipe! I thought it was a little too sweet, so next time I will not add the white sugar, and a little less brown sugar. I didn't have any corn flakes, so I substituted flour, and it still turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Note: I gave an A to under ten percent of students while teaching college. But, I had to give Carol Graham's casserole five stars. Two changes made on the first dish (Jan 2009, taken to a church lunch): 1) Use pecans instead of walnuts and 2) use straight corn flakes ("already enough sugar").
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This recipe was so easy to make. Turned out wonderful and everyone loved it. Said it tasted like pumpkin pie filling! Will be making this next year at Thanksgiving. The frosted flakes were a nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cinbin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ironwood, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalkaska, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dawn555
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This is great. I used pecans instead of walnuts and used Honey Bunches of Oats because I didn't have frosted corn flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This yam recipe is the best ever! I take it to every Thanksgiving and Christmas celebration to rave reviews. It make a "yam believer" of folks who say they hate yams! -Jeannette
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I made this for thanksgiving. All 18 people there loved it even those who thought they didn't like sweet potatoes. I make this with sweet potatoes. I microwave them and scoop out the inside and mash. I also cut back on the sugar in the casserole part. Really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I love this recipe and make this every year. It's the best yam casserole I've ever had. I use pecans instead of walnuts and use a little less butter. I love sweet and this is perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I have never had so many comments from a yam dish. I've had moms, grandmas and aunts tell me this is the best yam casserole they've ever had, and I've passed the recipe to them...In the yams I use brown sugar instead of white, and in the topping I don't add walnuts and use more cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynden, Washington, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Leftovers - what leftovers? I have a big family Christmas at my house, but in the past, almost the whole sweet potato casserole would be leftover. Not this year! It was practically licked clean and everyone raved and asked for the recipe. I did substitute regular corn flakes for the frosted because that was what I had on hand, but otherwise followed it to the letter. Thank you for bringing sweet potatoes back to our holiday gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
What a great casserole! It has now become a new family tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States