Yam Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
It's wonderful! the whole family loved it. It's easier to eat than the chunks of yam with the marshmallow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This recipe will definitely satisfy your sweet tooth! Everyone mentioned that it tasted more like a desert than a side. But it was delicious and the leftovers were just as good. I did microwave them, but just stirred it up so the topping "disappeared" into the dish. The nuts give it a nice crunch that lasts. I think next time though, I might cut out the white sugar or use just standard corn flakes to save on some calories and future dentist bills ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This has been my go to holiday recipe for a couple of years now. I have used frosted flakes and have substituted rice krispies. We like the rice krispie topping better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This was great! I didn't add the sugar, because I thought the ones I had were sweet enough. I made a quadruple batch for a Thanksgiving dinner for 23 people. Many of them told me they never eat sweet potatoes but they liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri-Lynn Howell-Schlaiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
My family refuses to eat Yams/Sweet Potatoes ... until now that is! Once again this year for Thanksgiving I bought fresh Yams in hopes of finding a recipe that my family would actually eat. I will never have to search or hope again. This is the recipe I will use going forward. Only change I made was to use fresh Yams. I simply washed the Yams well with cold water and threw them into the oven with the Turkey. No foil, no butter/oil ... just as they are. Pulled them out of the oven after about 45 minutes. Let them cool for about 30 minutes then peeled and mashed. Followed the recipe from this point on omitting the corn flakes and nuts. My husband refuses to eat anything with nuts too but that's another discussion. I made everyone take at least 1 small "no thank you" bite and was amazed when they actually LIKED it and scooped on a regular serving. Thanks for posting this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
While I don't care for yams, my family does, so I decided to make this dish. They all loved it! I did try it myself, and although I still didn't care for the taste of the yams, the topping was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I made the Yam casserole for my birthday/thanksgiving dinner yesterday and everyone loved it. I wasn't too sure how they would like yams but they just devoured the yam casserole. I know it's a keeper. Thankas for posting a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was good. I liked the crunchy topping. I didn't have corn flakes so I used honey nut cherios. I like yams. I was disappointed that when you add the milk it dilutes the flavor of the yams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I make this with fresh yams, just bake in the oven like a potato. Peel the skin off and continue this recipe. I don't use the cereal but substitute with flour. My family & I normally do not eat yams, but this recipe is loved by everyone in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Actually got my family to eat sweet potatoes! Very delicious recipe! I thought it was a little too sweet, so next time I will not add the white sugar, and a little less brown sugar. I didn't have any corn flakes, so I substituted flour, and it still turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States