Yam and Apple Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Like one of the others who commented, I too baked the yams for 45-min. Worked fine. Easy to peel and cut. As for the recipe, I added 2-3 oz of spiced rum! A good fit for the other spices, and a bit of an added 'mysterious' flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Use GALA apples - they are the best. I used apple cider and nutmeg instead of allspice. Very easy! Can make this a day ahead by poaching the apples in the cider mixture first, then refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Just made this one today, and WOW! I took a few tips from other reviews: I used 1/2 cup orange juice, 1/4 cup packed brown sugar. Other than that, I followed the recipe and it worked like a charm. My daughter, who only last week told me she despises yams, tried it and finished what she took (no seconds, but I'll take the small victory!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: German Valley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sharon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Used Splenda brown sugar blend and Country Crock instead of the full-fat versions, and it turned out great! My family loved it, and my daughter NEVER eats yams. This is worth the effort to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Very tasty especially with chicken as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flavor7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Weight Watchers: 8 points per serving. Serving size: 1/8 of casserole. Very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Whoo Hoo! VERY delicious! notes: watch out for soaked yams: yams will peel a lot nicer if you don't leave them soaking in the "cold bath"... over-done sauce: keep your eye on the sauce or it turns into syrup--also, reduce the sweetness of the sauce as the yams are very, very good by themselves... crispy apples: don't over-microwave the apples because the slightly crunchy texture is such a nice surprise in this predictably Orange dish. Even people who had never seen apples with yams were very impressed: I should have made more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This was really good, but the sweet potatoes were a bit lost in the apples & sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HERMIEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This recipe always gets rave reviews. However, I prefer to substitute the apple juice and lemon for 1/2 cup orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States