Yakitori Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I have made this recipe a few times and it always comes out perfect. I do everything as written except: I don't use the leeks and we grill the skewers. It has a great flavor and the chicken comes out very tender. It's terrific. I pair the leftovers with the Simple Spiced Rice from this site, add my favorite stir fry vegetables and make fried rice in my wok. Excellent. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Tried this today, followed as directed. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marz Akeung
Home Town: Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica, Guyana
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Very good! Will make it again! Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was really good! Juicy chicken, very flavorful - even the onions were tasty. I broiled them because it was too cold out and they turned out great - will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Instead of discarding the marinade, pour it into a little pot and cook to reduce until slightly syrupy, then serve a little over rice. Note: If it is too salty for your liking, add a little more sugar to balance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Didn't care for the combination of chicken, marinade, and leeks. The leeks didn't cook up well and they couldn't decide if they were going to be "onion"-ney or if they were going to try to mimic the flavor from the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapey
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Great recipe. Instead of putting in the oven, I put my skewers on the grill. I used bamboo skewers soaked in water since I don't have metal ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Sultan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
My 12 yr old son prepared this last evening for a country report presentation for his classmates & parents. He had no problems following the recipe & everyone enjoyed it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redmond, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I made this recipe last night, but only had 1/4 cup of soy sauce, so the ginger was pretty over powering. I used the marinade as a dipping sauce to enhance the flavor of the Chicken. It didn't taste much like the Yakitori you get in Japan, but was a nice change. I may try again with the correct amount of soy sauce, just to use up the Sake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
A great base recipe. I have made this a few times, and changed it each time..but the base as written is very close to the Japanese place that we enjoy. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARLCOPP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States