Yakitori Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I've been making this yakitori chicken for about 8 years now. We love it as much as day one! And now my two boys (7 & 3) are wild for it, too. When I prepare this, I marinate for no more than 30 min. Learned the hard way on that. Much longer and the chicken is way too salty. We skip the leeks and serve it with Weight Watchers fried rice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I have made this recipe a few times and it always comes out perfect. I do everything as written except: I don't use the leeks and we grill the skewers. It has a great flavor and the chicken comes out very tender. It's terrific. I pair the leftovers with the Simple Spiced Rice from this site, add my favorite stir fry vegetables and make fried rice in my wok. Excellent. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Tried this today, followed as directed. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marz Akeung
Home Town: Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica, Guyana
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Very good! Will make it again! Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was really good! Juicy chicken, very flavorful - even the onions were tasty. I broiled them because it was too cold out and they turned out great - will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Instead of discarding the marinade, pour it into a little pot and cook to reduce until slightly syrupy, then serve a little over rice. Note: If it is too salty for your liking, add a little more sugar to balance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Didn't care for the combination of chicken, marinade, and leeks. The leeks didn't cook up well and they couldn't decide if they were going to be "onion"-ney or if they were going to try to mimic the flavor from the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapey
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Great recipe. Instead of putting in the oven, I put my skewers on the grill. I used bamboo skewers soaked in water since I don't have metal ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Sultan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
My 12 yr old son prepared this last evening for a country report presentation for his classmates & parents. He had no problems following the recipe & everyone enjoyed it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redmond, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I made this recipe last night, but only had 1/4 cup of soy sauce, so the ginger was pretty over powering. I used the marinade as a dipping sauce to enhance the flavor of the Chicken. It didn't taste much like the Yakitori you get in Japan, but was a nice change. I may try again with the correct amount of soy sauce, just to use up the Sake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States