Yakitori Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I have also saved all of the marinade, put it on the stove bring to a boil(to kill off any bad chicken germs). Then added some cornstartch to thicken. Dunk or drizzle over the cooked skewers just before serving..yummy!..going to try them out on my Japanese friend tommorrow for s-bowl. We will see how a 'expert' rates them :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I marinated this too long (overnight). It broke down the texture of the chicken into mush, so we didn't eat it. The flavor was good, so I will definately try it again but only marinate it the recommended 15 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjhutch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
This is excellent! I made it just as the recipe said, but cooked it on a grill instead of under the broiler. Came out just great! Served with Peanut Noodles from this site and had a great meal. This definitely is a family favorite. Thanks Dakota!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Instead of discarding the marinade, pour it into a little pot and cook to reduce until slightly syrupy, then serve a little over rice. Note: If it is too salty for your liking, add a little more sugar to balance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
Wonderful. I doubled the marinade and made 1.5 pounds of chicken with 1/2 pound of fresh shrimp. I did not skewer the meat and leeks, just threw it all on the pan together. I'll definitely make this again, maybe next time using all shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
My family really liked this recipie, despite the fact that I let the chicken marinate overnight, which made the soy sauce flavor too dominant. The next time, I'll follow the recipie or use less soy sauce. Overall, it was a quick and easy dinner. I served the chicken with brown rice and broccoli, and we had no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Great recipe, I make it all of the time! I make it without the leeks and cut the chicken into strips instead of cubes to make it more like the yakitori restaurants we have locally. Great summer grilling recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
My 12 yr old son prepared this last evening for a country report presentation for his classmates & parents. He had no problems following the recipe & everyone enjoyed it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redmond, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
A great base recipe. I have made this a few times, and changed it each time..but the base as written is very close to the Japanese place that we enjoy. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARLCOPP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
Exellent flavor, perfect for summer grilling - juicy, quick and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States