Wyoming Cowboy Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Yum!!! This delicious oatmeal, chocolate chip, toasted coconut and pecan cookie recipe is a winner. The toasted coconuts and pecans give it a wonderful nutty flavor. I followed the recipe with a couple of suggestions by reviewers. First, since I used sweetened coconut, semi sweet chocolate chips, and added toffee chips, I reduced the brown sugar to 1 cup and white sugar to 1/4. It was still plenty sweet. Also, since I added the toffee chips I reduced the chocolate chips to 1 cup and there was still lots of chocolatey flavor. Lastly, I checked the cookies after 8 or 9 minutes and they were done. They were, as another reviewer described, crispy on the outside and slightly chewy on the inside. Also, it made probably more like 48 cookies for me instead of 36. My family loved these cookies and specifically requested them for Thanksgiving. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
These are a hit in our family. Exceptional taste and crunch. Everyone raves and most request the recipe. I make these frequently. I substitute 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of regular flour. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
this is a great cookie recipe JUST AS WRITTEN crunchy flavorful thank you so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Fantastic cookies and so easy to make! Love them as written. My 16 year old football lineman son calls them the perfect cookie and he's judged quite a few. lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Made these for a friend's birthday in February and have had to make them once a month since-- they are amazing. Such simple treats, but with a great, complex flavor. You will not be able to eat just one! Follow the recipe exactly-- maybe add some ground flax meal to up the health of them-- and then enjoy ravenously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I use 1 cup white choc chips and 1 cup semi sweet. These are my family and friends favorite cookies, they look forward to getting them every year for christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Tasty treat! I also added some extras, a handful of craisins and butterscotch chocolate chips, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I used macadamian nuts and they turned out just like Nordstrom's "Royale Cookie". YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Wonderful! Chewy on the inside, crisp on the outside. I had to make a few changes due to ingredients on hand. I substituted 2 cups whole wheat pastry flour for the 2 cups of flour, 3 eggs (mine were on the small side from my hens), and I had no vanilla extract so I used a teaspoon of almond extract. I didn't have white sugar, and replaced it with sugar in the raw. I had no pecans, but toasted extra coconut. The coconut that I had on hand was unsweetened. These turned out AMAZING! I just wanted to let people who like to use whole wheat flour that they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJSmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Love them! I added 3 tbsp of milled flax seed to healthy them up a bit more. My hubby, and friends all love them... I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tys-ol-Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olds, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States