WWII Oatmeal Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This could very well be the best cookie ever! I used the butter flavored shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I ran out of molasses and used 2 tbspKaro syrup instead, half cup brown sugar and half cup white sugar, half teaspoon ground cloves. I added butter extract, made one batch with just raisins, another with raisins and walnuts and final with raisins chocolate chips and pecans. Next time I'll use even less sugar because I think I can get away with it You can do a lot with this amazing recipe and it's all delicious! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I made these for game night (omitted the walnuts and raisins) and everyone loved them! Even one of our members who says he doesn't really like oatmeal kept reaching for another cookie. Definitely will make again (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Euphorixlost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Makes fabulous cookies. It is a great recipe as is and a great base for adding in different ingredients like pumpkin and pumpkin pie spice or craisens, pecans, and white chocolate. Never fails no matter how I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This recipe is incredibly good. I only changed a couple things out of strictly personal preference and because of items I had on hand. I used butter instead of shortening, cranberries instead of raisins and I added a half tsp of all spice and a half tsp of cinnamon. The cookies came out so moist and flavorful. I just noticed that another reviewer used applesauce instead of butter...will definitely try that next! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Delicious and easy to bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I ended up with dry, raisin-ey hockey pucks.The silver lining is that this recipe made me even more thankful that we won the war.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloverdale

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cloverdale, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I added 1 cup raisins, 1/2 cup walnuts, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp ground cloves. I made big cookies, baked for 10 min. Came out perfect! Best cookie I've ever baked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Very good. If you like molasses, of course. If you don't, then this recipe is not for you as the strong molasses flavor comes through. I made these as bars for time saving which was good. I also did an experiment: I added coconut, sunflower seeds, and walnuts to 1/2 the recipe. I really liked the version with the additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Wonderful recipe! I used 1 1/2 cup flour. I will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States