WV's Finest Boneless Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
I love boneless short ribs and was looking for a way to grill them for a bbq party. The sauce was the best part... smoky, thick and flavor packed! I wish I kept an eye on the temp - I let them get to about 190 degrees and it was drier than I would have liked but the end result was still a hit! The fresh garlic and onion in the sauce gave it a lot of depth over just plain bbq sauce. I had to keep myself from eating it up before my guests arrived. I will definitely make this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I hate to rate anything this low, but I cooked these per the instructions and they turned out dry. We did like the sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Mmmmmmm....these were some good pieces of barbecued meat! We will fix these again. The sauce was really good too. I used A1 steak sauce, You could taste the steak sauce and the worcestershire even after simmering. So this will turn out differently depending on the steak sauce you use. I used dried minced onion 1T instead of chopping one. I only cooked this 45 min as I was using a convection oven and then on the grill for only 7 because they would have been overcooked and dried out if we had done the whole time as stated. Thanks, we really liked this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
The BBQ sauce that this makes is fabulous by itself! It's great to add to pinto beans as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Yummy. I used bbq sauce and ketchup instead of chili sauce because I didn't want it to be too spicy for my kids. I also didn't use celery seed because I didn't have any, and it didn't taste like it needed any extra salt or pepper. I put the sauce in the baking dish with the ribs and baked it for 45 minutes at 325 degrees, then grilled it on med-low for about 15 minutes. I basted the ribs with some of the sauce from the baking pan, and kept the rest warm on the stove for dipping. The ribs turned out very moist and yummy, but I think they would have been much too dry without the temperature-time changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Great sauce, however the pre-grilling instructions are a little off (in my opinion anyways). Usually when I cook ribs I throw them in a baking dish with some carrots/celery/onions and then fill the dish with water until they are completely submerged. Cover with foil and cook for 2.5 hours on 325C. Or, for extra juicy/tender ribs, 250C for 3.5 hours. Once that was completed, I picked back up with the recipe at step 2 and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This recipe was GREAT-- I followed the suggestions by previous members to make sure that the ribs didn't get tough. I served it for two dinner parties in a row and got rave reviews!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I followed this recipe completely and the ribs were as hard as a rock. The only thing I could figure out was maybe the sauce should be simmered for the 30 minutes and then placed over the ribs before baking for an hour? Also the sauce was way to spicy so I added some barbecue sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Best BBQ sauce ever. Loved it, family loved it. Ribs were great. cooked the ribs, put into foil, let them soak in the sauce YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sflash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
After reading some of the reviews, I decided to watch the meat a little more. I cooked it for about 50 minutes in the oven. When I noticed it getting dry, then I took it out to grill it. I didn't have all the ingredients listed and I live an hour from the nearest store so I did the best I could with what I had. I primarily had a bbq sauce. I am a wimp so I am glad I didn't use the entire bottle of chili sauce as suggested. Even the small amount that I used was a little on the spicy side, but I still enjoyed it. Once I finished the meat on the grill I cut it up and added it to a salad of arugula, cucumber, green onions, and avocado. It was great. I definitely want to try the original sauce recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, slow-cooked pork ribs on your barbeque grill.

Prize Winning Baby Back Ribs

Spice-rubbed ribs get the slow-cooking treatment over indirect heat.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States