Wrapped Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
O.K. I changed it a little bit: I stirred together about 2 Tbsp dijon mustard, 2 Tbsp brown sugar, 2 Tbsp soy sauce, 1 Tbsp lemon juice, and a pinch of onion powder. I used this sauce to spoon over the salmon rather than just the plain dijon mustard. I also used non-fat butter spray rather than butter. It came out fabulous! The tender salmon and flaky phyllo dough made for a delectable dish. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
263 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Practically Organic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2001
A wonderful dinner party main dish that is simple to prepare. The result is quite elegant and delicious. Have the phyllo dough thawed but still cold and keep it moist with a paper towel while you are preparing each roll. Great with roasted asparagus and a salad of field greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
This is by FAR the best salmon I've ever eaten! (better than grilled, in my humble opinion) The fish is actually steamed inside the phyllo. It comes out flaky and moist, done to perfection. The compliment of the crispy, crunchy phyllo is a delight! I went a bit light on the mustard, and found it to be a wonderful compliment, but not overpowering. I also used fresh ground pepper, it is a MUCH better alternative to the already ground you buy at the store. The preparation was easy (and I had never used phyllo) and every bite was gone by end of the meal. raves from everyone!! Hope you will try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilMama84
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I started making the recipe salmon in puff pastry, and then realized I got phyllo dough by mistake. I searched and found this recipe, and combined the two! I put a layer of spinach longways across the middle of a stack of 8 or so sheets, then laid a whole salmon filet on top of it. I sprinkled the salmon with garlic powder and dill, then topped it with some dijon mustard mixed with a little sour cream. I closed the dough over the salmon, and brushed the top with butter. I then cooked it as directed. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
My version has 3 layers inside the wrap. First a layer of cooked minute rice, then a layer of cooked well drained spinach and finally the salmon. Adds texture, color and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2001
Excellent! I'm not a huge fan of dijon, but it tastes great like this! So easy, too! You can make them ahead of time, freeze them, and just pop them in the oven. It was a huge hit with my husband, who is a seafood lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
I added soy sauce and fresh lemon to the mustard for each salmon steak. My family loved this including 2 toddlers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLTONC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
I'm sorry I have never given a review this low....but it was awful. The salmon with the phyllo was not good. The dijon was too overpowering and the phyllo just didn't fit with the other ingredients with this. I was very disappointed that I spent my money and wasted some very good ingredients. Sorry that it didn't suit us, but thanks for the post anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This recipe is a great idea, but a lot of work. Salmon and phyllo is a great combination. I did make some changes, without which I don't think we would have enjoyed it as much. To the dijon mustard, I added 1 Tbsp. melted butter and 2 Tbsp. honey. The sweeter sauce went so well with the phyllo AND the salmon. I highly recommend trying this variation. Also, be sure to use a rimmed cookie sheet, because the dijon sauce leaked out of some of the wraps and dripped in my oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2001
The flavor of this recipe was wonderful, a refreshing change from the same old salmon recipe. A word of caution though when working with phyllo dough, be very patient. In the end it is all worth while, the flavor is not to be beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Miso Maple-Glazed Salmon

Watch Chef John prepare a super-easy salmon dish.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States