Wrapped Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Almost every review, good or bad, focuses on the phyllo. Instead of using store-bought phyllo, try making a puff pastry, like the simple, straight-forward recipe submitted by "your mom." Most store-bought phyllo and puff pastry are made with cheap fats like palm oil or margarine, instead of butter. Butter makes all the difference in the world for taste and texture, and those elements are what this salmon recipe's wrap is all about...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I almost gave up on this recipe before tasting it because working with phyllo dough is frustrating! Just one bite changed my mind completely. Took advice from others and mixed mustard (1/2 brown, 1/2 yellow) with a little soy sauce, dried dill, and a splash of white wine. Would definitely recommend preparing this dish ahead of time (to minimize phyllo-frustration) and serve it for a dinner party! BTW, if the phyllo sheet breaks just paste sheets together with butter. Worked perfectly for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I have only used the Dijon mustard and it tastes great! There was nothing left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Porto, Porto, Portugal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This is my favorite recipe for salmon. The only variation I've sometimes use is to add cooked/sauteed mushrooms on top of the salmon and then cook. It's also delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lighthouse Point, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I really liked this recipe and made it exactly as stated the first time. The second time, I used puff pastry dough and it came out great - without having to mess with phyllo dough (which I hate). I combined this recipe with the Goat Cheese Recipe from the site, stuffed the fillets with garlic and herb feta cheese before wrapping them. Wonderful recipe, and fun to experiment with using different seasonings and spices. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrocklage72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Okay, this was just splendid. After I got the hang of wrapping the salmon with phyllo it was easy and turned out just wonderful. This is a very nice recipe that can be prepared ahead of time and popped in the oven when guests arrive. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coastie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mills River, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Following Spideygirl's suggestion instead o fthe mustard made this simple recipe a hit! Making again for my Mum (very picky) for Christmas Eve Dinner, so you know it must be good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orgle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This was really good, the only change I made was to use spicy mustard. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I took the advice of someone else and used 4 sheets on each salmon instead of 2. It made working with the dough MUCH easier! I personally didn't care for the recipe, i didn't like the two textures together, and the phyllo dough doesn't really have a flavor, but it did use it up out of my freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Even the picky 5yo likes this one! Don't need to change anything. Great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Miso Maple-Glazed Salmon

Watch Chef John prepare a super-easy salmon dish.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States