Wrapped Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This recipe was pretty good, but I can't say that I'll be making it again. PROS: I tried SPIDEYGIRL's sauce, and the salmon defintely did not taste "fishy" at all. Also, as others have said, the crunchy phyllo is a nice compliment to the flaky salmon. CONS: I've worked with phyllo several times before, but this recipe felt too time consuming in relation to the end product, which was good, but not really great enough to make again. My biggest complaint is that even though the salmon didn't taste fishy, it didn't really have a lot of flavor at all. It was like the marinade absorbed all the fishy flavor but didn't really add anything else. I think that I will stick to my old favorite recipes for salmon, but this one was fine to try for a little change from the norm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilMama84
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I started making the recipe salmon in puff pastry, and then realized I got phyllo dough by mistake. I searched and found this recipe, and combined the two! I put a layer of spinach longways across the middle of a stack of 8 or so sheets, then laid a whole salmon filet on top of it. I sprinkled the salmon with garlic powder and dill, then topped it with some dijon mustard mixed with a little sour cream. I closed the dough over the salmon, and brushed the top with butter. I then cooked it as directed. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Very easy (if you don't mind working with phyllo) and tasty dish. I added some fresh dill to the mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I made this recipe with some alterations. I took 8ozs of frozen sweet peas, 1/2 of an onion cut into cubed-size pieces, 1 tablespoon of garlic powder, 1/4 block of low fat cream cheese, some worchestire sauce, 1/2 tea spoon sea salt, 2 big tablespoons of jalapeno peppers from the jar. I cut the jalapeno peppers it in small pieces and I let all the ingredients that I mentioned simmer for 15 mins., until the peas became tender. I then added 2 cans of canned salmon, and 2 big cans of mushrooms. I drained the mushrooms and I got all the excess water out of them, then I cut the mushrooms into tiny pieces and I mixed everything together in a big bowl. I also used olive oil instead of the melted butter. I tried using the melted butter, but for some reason it did not work for me, from the very start, so I switched. and the olive oil give it a nice taste. I baked the wraps at 350 degrees instead of 375 degrees, for 30 mins. This is an awesome recipe. Thank you very much Heidi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
So unbelievably easy and fast. This was an elegant little appetizer for Christmas eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEKANE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edina, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Louis Park, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Very simple and very good. The whole family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This went over very well! I used both salmon and tuna steak. I marinated the fish for several hours in soy, lime juice, garlic, worcestershire and rice vinegar. I cut the fish in strips about an inch or more thick. I put a strip of honey mustard on the fish (I thought it could use more but my guests thought it was perfect). I didn't find the phyllo dough as challenging as I thought it would be but. I cut the sheets in about a 5"x5" square so the fish was wrapped multiple times. For the tuna, I would recommend cooking at 400 - it was a little dry so cooking a little faster may have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PURRBERT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Great idea, I used butter flavor cooking spray to coat the phyllo instead. Really liked how the salmon came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Pretty tasty - I like the suggestion by one reviewer to make "bite size" and bring as an app to party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Very good, I thought the mustard was a bit overwhelming but the family just loved it! Thanks again allrecipies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Miso Maple-Glazed Salmon

Watch Chef John prepare a super-easy salmon dish.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States