Wrapped Mexican Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I saw this recipe and knew it was going to be good. ~NOTE~:I would reccomend using store bought Green Salsa. Its really tricky if you never made it and can come out Really Bitter. I love to make Mexican food and this is a real treat for breakfast with some refried beans. Thanks for the Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
I have chickens and a surplus of eggs so I'm always looking for good egg recipes.This is one of the best I've found. I used 8 eggs and 10 egg whites, 2% cheese and no sour cream. My only complaint is it wasn't hot enough for my taste so I'll add more chilis next time. Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
This recipe came out beautifully. The success of this dish depends on the texture of the eggs, so do not overcook them during the initial scramble. Keep them as wet as you can and still hold them together. I served this with the Avocado Salad recipe on this site, using that as a salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2000
Yummy! A really different way to serve eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This recipe is HUGE - so plan to feed a crowd or have LOTS of leftovers... which is not a problem, because this is GREAT! I give it a four only because the salsa was too watery and made the dish dry in spots and runny in others - I recommend leaving out half or all of the water and adding a tablespoon of oil for a thick, chunkier salsa. I also recommend doubling the salsa or at least saving some back to top the dish after cooking with another dab of sour cream. It was so nice to prep this the night before to serve Daddy in bed on Father's Day... add refried beans, fresh fruit, maybe some bunuelos (Mexican fried donut-things) and a PINA COLADA!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamacherie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
This recipe sounded very appetizing, until I made it and decided it was quite bland. I love salsa verde and have made many recipes using it before, but this was one I did not particularly enjoy. I spent about 25 minutes chopping veggies and preparing this recipe. However the fnished taste was quite average. The salsa was too tart, and I believe this is because the tomatillos are not boiled but chopped and simmered. THe resulting flavor was tart. My 4 year old did not like it, and I spiced mine up with a store-bought guacamole sauce and sour cream. I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
Maybe I did something wrong. Hubby said it was good, but I thought it was too mushy and needed a little some thing else, like maybe more veggies and perhaps beans? I don't know, I doubt I'll attempt this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MENMYTEDDY13

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Delicious brunch option but could be spiced up with some chopped sausage. Can be prepared ahead for entertaining. Way more filling than tortillas. I cut the number of filling ingredients in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Boy R Keith

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This was just ok for me,it was a little bland...if I make it again I will definetly buy the salsa instead of make it as a time saver..and reduce the amount of eggs it was to much...I would also add some sausage to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
The only change I made was that I didn't bother pureeing the salsa - I just diced everything finely, and simmered until everything was soft and juicy. Thanks, jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Authentic Mexican Breakfast Tacos

Spiced chorizo and scrambled eggs make the best breakfast tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States