Wow! Sweet and Sour Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I was trying to make this gluten free so I left out the soy sauce, steak sauce, and cayenne pepper sauce. It was still a wonderful sauce and there was plenty of it! Loved it and will definitely make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MEKI1
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Perfect! It was just what I was looking for. I had to sub in crushed pineapple and worcestershire sauce instead of steak sauce since didn't know I was out of it until I started cooking which is funny b/c I didn't know I was out of store bought sweet and sour sauce until the lumpia was cooked! It was quick and easy and of course delish~! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
A wonderfully delicious sweet and sour sauce!! My variation is slight: I used apple cider vinegar instead of the white vinegar. I omitted the steak sauce and used Worcestershire Sauce instead. I added a little bit of ground ginger and garlic powder to taste. --> that's it! Otherwise I followed this recipe to a tee! I also cut the recipe in half since I am single and stored the left over in a jar in the refrigerator for another night. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaureDawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gould, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
It is the BEST! Does not need to add or take any thing away. After all it is Sweet and Sour Sauce. Maybe less pepper for the kids. This will be my only recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly since it was my first time making it. My pickiest eater LOVED it! My whole family loved it. I will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phylicia
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
So good! I didn't have any cayenne pepper, it's more sweet that way anyway. Tested like Panda Express Sweet and sour sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Don't usually review, but just used this recipe and really loved it, I did leave out the spice but made a great dipping for our spring rolls. Thank :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This is a great sauce. I was surprised that I had almost all the base ingredients with a few alterations. I used crushed pineapple, Heinz 57 steak sauce, and Frank's Red hot sauce instead cayenne. Made as directed and was worried that it was too much sauce add it to pork. And I was right. This makes about 4 cups of sauce. I used about 1/2 the sauce and that was a lot still. Usually I double the sauce, but this, I would have to 1/2 the recipe next time and use more pineapple juice than water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Excellent! I made this to accompany some Spring Rolls I made from this site. Rave reviews from everyone who tried the combo. I added a little more red pepper flakes because we are more of a fan of spicy than we are of sweet .... I kept leftovers and made sweet and sour pork a couple of days later. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Amazing sauce! My husband was very impressed. It tasted so close to a sweet & sour sauce at our favorite Chinese place. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Baked Asparagus with Balsamic Butter Sauce

See how to make a top-rated asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States