Wow! Is that Caviar? Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Wow is right! This recipe was so easy, and I took it to an open house last night and everyone went nuts over it. It was gone almost before anything else was even touched. I put it in a pretty pie pan and caught one guy scraping up the last of it with his FINGER! I think I spent about $12 on the recipe, so it wasn't the cheapest thing I could have made, but it looked like I spent three times what I did. BTW, about the recipe -- drain and rinse BOTH caviars SEPARATELY, not just the one. I added capers to the recipe -- just a small jar, drained, and arranged on top with the caviars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I was going to submit my similar recipe which we call Caviar Pie when I found "Wow! Is that Caviar?" This is a terrific dish to serve or take to parties, always wows them. A slight difference in my recipe, I mix 3T of mayonaise with the chopped eggs, use a bit more cream cheese (8oz) and sour cream(2/3c) layer and garnish with lemon wedges and parsley. Serve with cocktail pumpernickel and/or rye. I love the tip about drying the onions, this can be goopy if you don't drain, dry and chill in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
I thought this was delicious. I served it at a family get-together. People were afraid to try it. "Fish eggs? We use that as bait here in Oregon!" A few suggestions: Use a piping bag, or the corner of a plastic zipper bag to add the sour cream/cream cheese topping. That way, you can leave spaces for people to see what is underneath. Also, next time, I will use 2 TBS of capers, rinsed, in the egg mixture. I placed the onions on a paper towel & put them in the refriegerator, but no juices were given off. Anyway, if I really thought the onions were runny, I'd slice them first, shake salt on them, and then put them in the fridge. A half hour later I'd take them out and rinse off the salt, pat-dry with paper towels, and then dice the onions. I garnished the corners with fresh fennel fronds. It was a lovely touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QAEDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Great recipe! Everyone that liked caviar really loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Outstanding, it disappeared very quickly at our Christmas day party, with rave reviews by all. I made mine in a dish with three horizontal compartments. I put the layered caviar ingredients in the middle using black/red stripes and put "mini-toasts" (bought in a package from the supermarket)in the side compartments. I will be making this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BHYLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
My guest liked this even those who weren't too sure about eating fish eggs. Recipe can be found on the package of caviar, so while not original, it's good to know that it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Very delicious. My mom used to make this for cocktail parties back in the late eighties. She used a springform pan to make it and transport it, but when the sides were removed, it was very pretty. I also think she did a layer of the cream cheese/sour cream (and I think hers had mayo too) on the bottom, then egg and onion together, then more cream cheese mixture, then caviar on top. And she only ever used black, but I love the idea of doing a red and white yin yang on top. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gonzales, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I make this every year during the holidays. Everyone loves it. And it can be fun making different designs. I use small folded up pieces of aluminum foil as "bars" to design my shape, then add the different colors of caviar. Great Wow Factor! I also add capers as part of the design on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States