Worry Free Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Made with full fat evaporated milk and added 1/3 cocoa, tastes like a wendys chocolate frosty. Also dont have an ice cream maker so just froze in a baking pan with foil for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Definitely underrated! It's great for how low in fat it is. I used two 12 oz cans, or 3 cups, of 2% evaporated milk (following calamari's advice), 1 1/2 tbsp vanilla, and 1/2 cup of sugar, in a 1 1/2 quart ice cream maker. I heated the milk first to make sure the sugar dissolved thoroughly. I just added a few extra spices this time, nothing fancy. It turned out quite well, better than expected. Coming out right of the machine, it was quite light actually, good flavor and texture. Not quite like full fat real ice cream, I can see the comparison to ice milk, but certainly tasty. I will definitely make this again, and next time I'll experiment beyond vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I think this recipe is under-rated because it originally called for sweetened condensed milk, but after the typo was corrected, the ratings improved. This is my favorite ice cream recipe because 1) extremely easy - only 3 ingredients 2) lower fat than most recipes 3) great base for fruit ice creams My modifications to the recipe: * Use 2% evaporated milk instead of skim, because ice cream needs some fat to churn properly. Skim is too skinny! * Scale up the recipe to use three 12oz cans of evaporated milk (36oz total) and 1 1/4 cups of sugar. I use this recipe as a base for making fruit ice creams (in fact, I've only made the vanilla once). When using 36oz evaporated milk, I use 1 pint or 1 pound of fruit, chopped (strawberry, cherry) or pureed (blueberry, banana), and combine with 3/4 cup of the sugar for an hour to create a fruit syrup. Then mix with the milk, sugar, and vanilla, and churn. Awesome fruit ice cream! When made with 1 pint of fruit, the recipe yields about 7 quarts ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This recipe is quick, but the results are not that good. My ice cream was not creamy; it had more of a ice milk texture. The biggest negative is that is tastes like evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Brilliant store-cupboard recipe. Have also blended in a bunch of fresh mint which works superbly well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
I liked this recipe a lot! It was easy and inexpensive to make, and quite tasty. It didn't turn out creamy though, more of the consistancy of ice milk I suppose. The only complaint I have is the colour--yellowy rather than white. Oh well. May try with splenda next time to reduce the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
Now that the recipe has been changed it did work! It was ok!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
We have updated this recipe to include evaporated milk instead of sweetened condensed, as we believe that the ingredient was interpreted incorectly from the original submission. The ice cream should be able to freeze much more quickly, and actually be "worry free"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
worry free ice cream,i tried this recipe for the first time and it was like soup and i kept my machine running more then 30 minutes and i took it ouuut and put in the freezer still would not freeze like the rewiew i read it cost money to do this recipe and its a flop it seems like she left someoff the recipe and it terrible sweet to just like it is i would not try that recipe again. This recipe has been altered by the Allrecipes staff and should now be "worry free." Please read the review submitted by the staff and note changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
We tried this recipe twice and had bad results both times. It just would not freeze in our White Mountain ice cream maker. After 40 minutes, it was still soup. I took it out and mixed in skim milk and put in our regular freezer and it finally is freezing. We spent a lot of money and had disappointed kids. The flavor is good, although much too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States