World's Greatest Vegetable Broth Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Another 10 for taste, ease, cost, and fat/sodium control. Made 6 2c. containers for the freezer. I had no turnips on hand though. I also subbed the green pepper for a red, and added an additional 1/2 of a red onion, 3 cloves of smashed garlic, 2 bay leaves and some thyme as well...used up what I had. I slow simmereed this for hours and saved the veggies at the end. I ended up putting these veggies through my food processor for a few seconds and adding this wonderful roasted puree to my pot of chicken soup for extra flavor and veggie value...Wonderful! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This IS the World's Greatest Vegetable Broth. Totally saved my behind this week as I'm low on cash and can't afford boxed/canned organic broth. I did cheat a bit and used two week's worth of trimmings (I throw my trimmings in ziploc bags, then use them in the recipe for the broth later) from vegetables in with a small amount of the called for vegetables to fill in what I needed for the broth and I did use one drained can of organic diced tomatoes only because I could not afford fresh tomatoes. That's a cheap way to really use the most out of the produce you buy and really get a super flavorful broth. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe--this was an absolute lifesaver for me. Next time, I'll try this with a few pieces of chicken wings to get a homemade vegetable-chicken broth. NOTE: MAKE SURE YOU REDUCE YOUR BROTH. That's a key step. Do not skip it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This recipe came up on my igoogle daily rotation of recipes from this site. It caught my attention immediately, even though we are not vegetarian. It simply sounded like a hearty broth with which to cook rice, or use in a future soup/stew, etc. Well. I am VERY impressed with the hearty flavor this broth produces! It is aromatic as it simmers all day, and easy, easy to produce. I've 10 cups of broth, 8 in the freezer, and 2 for tomorrow's meal; three cups of vegetables to munch on, and three cups in the freezer for future use in a stew. Here is why I only gave it a four star: the broth is missing salt. While I understand the reason WHY no salt (allows the broth to be used in a recipe without adding additional), I would still have to add it, were I to use this as a warm drink on a chilly night (it's that good!) One last note: I added 1/2 a head of cabbage to the mix, as I had it on hand. A great addition. SUPER RECIPE, Tom!! Thank you! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaJireh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
One user made it in a crock pot and said it was bland. The instructions say to simner it and reduce the broth by half. No wander the broth was bland, the crock pot still had all that extra liquid in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I love this recipe. I usually just roast everything but the garlic together and find it comes out great. Once I roasted small pieces of garlic and they scorched, I don't know what I was thinking! I've also roasted an entire head and it didn't burn at all, then I used the extra for a roasted garlic bread.... delish! I've used the roasted vegetables to blend up, season and make a vegan pate for crackers. I've also added cream cheese and seasoning and made a cheesey vegetable dip. Proper seasoning is what gets good results if you choose to use your left overs that way. I dabble with different herbs and seasonings each time and it always goes well. I use the broth as a base for a lot of asian soups. Its great for stock in pot pies and supurb seasoned and eaten on its own. I have given out this recipe several times and its always a crowd pleaser. The best part is that its so simple to wash the veggies, clean them, give them a rough chop and pop 'em in the oven, roast, simmer, strain and eat. Freezes well too, of course. Depending on what I'm using the broth for I sometimes add extra ingredients, more tomatoes, more onions, less turnip (NEVER omit the turnip, even if you don't like them they add an important balance and the flavor does not impart a "turnip-y" taste at all), halved crimini mushrooms, etc etc. This recipe is great because it seems to invite exploration. I think it truly is the World's Greatest Vegetable Broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikolette T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I use this technique to make my broth. When I cook thruout the week I keep a plastic bag in the fridge filled with all the peelings & cut offs from the veggies I've used all week. This includes onion & garlic skins & all the items in the fridge that look like they're ready for vegetable heaven. If the bag doesn't look full enough I put it in the freezer until I have a "BIG" bag full. It never tastes exactly the same but it always tastes good. I store some of the broth in small baggies for portion control and use those for gravies & other recipes that need 1 cup of broth. The rest in a large bag for soup. A Chef taught me this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I love that I can use up veges for my soups! I always have extra veges in the fridge, and didn't think about using them to flavor it. I don't really like eating all the veges, but the flavor is great when sauteed and strained. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This broth was okay. I think since I'm not a huge fan of cooked carrots and celery, that did it in for me. My boyfriend liked it a lot though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino Hills, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I liked this soup alot. The only change I made was I didn't add turnips but I added a roast to it. Making it a beef/veg soup. I think it is rather bland so next time I will add more spices. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bekkah
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
A very good broth. I used a yam instead of turnips and added 2 Thai chili peppers, but otherwise made it pretty much as described. The yam made the soup quite sweet and I had to add a considerable amount of salt to cut the sweetness. The chilis were VERY hot and made the soup quite spicy which I personally loved, though others may not. I added extra of all the spices (pepper, clove, garlic) and I think that without the chilis, I would not have liked this soup very much (I think it would have been too bland) which is why I'm giving it 4 instead of 5 stars. But the combination of sweet, salty and spicy made the soup quite good. I ground up the veggies the next day and mixed them with oatmeal and eggs and made a ton of veggie burgers which were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bekkah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Vegetable Pizza I

This tasty party pizza is like creamy veggie dip in pizza form!

How to Make Roasted Chicken Broth

The key to delicious chicken noodle soup is the broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States