World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Gotta give it a 5. It's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tigrezebra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Farzana Afroze Urmi
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Oh my god.. i never write review but i had to for this one... it was soooooo easy and sooo good.. i followed the intstruction fully.. only change i made was baking powder. as many ppl suggested to påut 3 tea spoon so i used three. also i didnt have sour cream so i used thick yogurt.. but these were sooo crispy outside moist and flacky inside. loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Makes great scones!I do recommend using very cold butter (I get the butter out of the freezer just before I start working. I start with cubed butter, cut that in with a pastry knife and then work it with my hands for a minute. I have done several variations with this recipe. The favorite, so far is white chocolate chip lemon lavender scones. Muddle the sugar with 1 teaspoon of lavender. Switch currents with white chocolate chips, add the zest of one lemon and two teaspoons of lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shirley George
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I usually do not leave a review but i just had to this time. As a professional baker, i have tried several scone recipes but none came as fantastic as these ones. Simply delicious, moist on the inside and a nice crust on the outside. This will be the recipe i will use from now onwards. I made two changes. Used 3 teaspoons of baking powder and replaced sour cream with buttermilk because i had none. Will get some from the store the next time. My husband and son loves these scones. Thank you so much for sharing this great recipe. Cheers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley George

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Best oven scones I've had. I finally found oven scones that taste as good as my griddle scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I make this recipe for ever as it's written and never tastes bitter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This is the truly the Best Scone recipe! Thanks for sharing. Made these for a Bridal Shower to rave reviews. Even good the next day. You are so right, the key to them is not to over mix. My Scottish Grandmother made pie crust with milk and you have the same problem. Over mixing toughens the crust. I will be making these again and experimenting with delicious additions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Wow! These were amazing! They weren't dry (I have found many scones tend to be dry and hard to eat) and tasted wonderful! I used golden raisins and topped it with an orange glaze, which was wonderful! I made it with a little less baking powder, which I would recommend, but it was wonderful overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krischellie21
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
This recipe is amazing. So easy to follow this recipe. Scones came out perfect! Not too dry, not too soft. I followed the advice of some others and reduced baking powder to 3 tsp instead of 4. I also took some tips from another recipe and used frozen butter and grated it into the flour mixture rather than using a pastry blender. I used craisins instead of raisins, but that is just a personal preference. After mixing the dough, I sprinkled my counter with flour and pressed dough down into a circle about 8 inches around and 3/4 inches thick. Then cut into 8 triangles like a pizza pie. Sprinkled with a teaspoon of sugar instead of egg wash and placed on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper instead of greasing it. I placed them in the oven on the lower middle rack and baked for 18 minutes. They came out perfectly golden brown without having to grease a sheet or fiddle with an egg wash. I agree with everyone that this ingredient list is the best recipe, but I feel the adjustments I made based on tips from others helped to make these a breeze to make;-) Would highly recommend this recipe with those few minor adjustments! Check out my photo with the Krispy Kreme mug??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I have attempted other scone recipes without success and was a bit wary to try this one also. With my search continuing I decided to try this after reading all the reviews and have to say that I was very impressed with the results. Maybe my search is finally over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 483) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States