World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
I've made these scones 4 or 5 times. Always trying something different for flavor, pears, apples, etc with appropriate spices. They are awesome!! Wonder what would happen if I used a mashed, ripe banana and some chocolate chips??? I'll let you know....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
It was so easy to make, and so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
The only thing I changed was I used dried cranberries instead of raisins. I have tried a lot of recipes for scones and these turned out the best. My husband was eating them like biscuits. Making them again today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Sweany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Made these for St. Patricks day for work. Used craisins and white chocolate chips instead of raisins. Doubled the recipe and still all were gone within 1/2 hour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Best I've ever made. Only I'd make double the recipe the 1st batch was too small amount and went like hotcakes !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Anne Svadjian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I gave it 3 stars for taste but the texture was much too cake like to be called a scone. I knew the recipe was off when I noticed that the dough was much too moist. The other thing was I noticed that there was baking powder in the recipe instead of baking soda. Baking soda is much more traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I just baked these OMG they are the best scones I added blueberries to mine and it was just perfect and it was my first time baking scones thanks for sharing your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny Yefima

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I use this site for new recipes... or to make something I've tried at a restaurant etc, to make on my own. A couple of weeks ago we visited my father in law. While looking for something for breakfast I found 4 scones carefully wrapped in saran wrap. He buys his bread and such at a local German bakery. Yes, a German bakery has scones! Anyways... I placed one in the toaster oven, it was a wonderful Cranberry Scone! It made me crave scones... I found this recipe after looking through several and for a novice scone baker they turned out WONDERFUL! The first batch I made turned out to be plain scones because I was being SO careful to not overwork the dough I forgot the raisins! (currants are hard to find here) I was forced(?) to make a second batch, esp after the plain ones were so good! The second batch was fantastic also! They are bit thinner than what I'm used to. That may be something I'm doing, maybe rolling them out to far? I had a problem with the cranberry batch last week, they seemed dry to me... but my daughter in law said she enjoyed them! Any idea? We love this recipe and other than the one of 4 batches they are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Was really in the mood for scones this morning. No buttermilk, no cream for my usual recipes but....I did have sour cream! Found this Scottish scone recipe and gave it a shot! Followed the recipe exactly with just the addition of some maple syrup. Oh my....these were so light and yummy. Can't wait to try this recipe for savoury scones! They would be terrific with the homemade soups we love during the winter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Stirling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Gotta give it a 5. It's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tigrezebra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States