World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
This recipe was great. Instead of rolling the scones into balls I gently formed the dough into a square and cut triangles. This gives them more of the classic scone shape. I also sprinkled the top of them with raw sugar to add a nice crunch to the shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This recipe is great and very easy. My 15 year old step daughter wanted to make scones and even with her less the careful method they turned out great. We used chocolate chips and just a touch of vanilla. We also followed the advice of others and sprinkled some raw sugar on top before baking. Wonderful. Light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
Absolutely the best scones ever!! Follow the recipe exactly and you'll not be disappointed--quite tasty with English Double Devonshire cream or lemon curd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
These scones really ARE the best scones I've ever had, and I used to be a professional pastry chef. I made a few minor changes to adjust them to what I was looking for- I added vanilla, substituted white and semi-sweet chocolate chips for the currants, and left off the egg wash. And I just pulled the dough apart into 8 pieces (the way I used to at the bakery) and baked them that way, without shaping them. After they came out of the oven, I drizzled them with a vanilla/confectioner's sugar icing. Thy were very sweet this way, but just what I was looking for. The sour cream gave them a great flavor and texture,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Truly delicious scones! Only my 2nd attempt to make them (first attempt was 20 years ago and not very successful). These turned out great but were not exactly like the submitted recipe. I had recently eaten an orange cranberry scone at a Fresh Market and loved it and was trying to duplicate the flavor. These are even better! My changes included subbing orange Craisins and adding 1 1/2 tsp. orange zest, lite sour cream, fat-free evaporated milk (for richness), and omitting the egg wash. They were so soft that I dropped them - 12 - onto a parchment lined baking sheet and sprinkled them with natural sugar crystals. Fabulous! They were full of flavor, not heavy, and crunchy on the outside. My husband tasted them and has requested one with his lunch today (his first scone). Next tiime, I will make 24 smaller scones and share them with friends. This is not scone country so they will be a novelty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joanna, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
this is an excellent & easy scone recipe! i made these beauties as directed with the exception of only slightly shaping the dough & then spacing them apart on a cookie sheet. we ate half of of our scones the first day then reheated (as recommended) the leftovers. they were delicious plain or with jam. many thanks ff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This is what I've been looking for! I made these for breakfast this morning. I ran out of milk and used water instead, they were still great! Nice and easy, light and tasty. This is now my primary scone recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
I made this recipe exactly as told. It was wonderful. Melt in your mouth great! The dough was very wet and sticky when I was forming the scones so I just kept putting my hands in flour and they formed fine. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
This recipe is great! I goofed and mixed the egg into the batter and they still turned out. I used craisins instead of raisins and made 4 huge ones instead of 8 smaller ones. I had to modify the temperature and the time a bit to cook them on the inside. I will definately make these again - delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL UTLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This is a really great recipe, the scones are light and delicious. I did add a touch more butter to achieve the right consistency. Based on the reviews of others, I did sugar the cookie sheet, omit the egg wash and substitute Craisins TM, for currants. These were brought to a potluck and I knew they were truly superb when ladies were asking "have you tried the scones? They're amazing". A pleasure to say, yes, I brought them. Easily doubled, I made 32 small scones. Thank you Friendlyfood for sharing this great treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 477) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States