World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
These scones were absolutely fabulous. I divided the dough into 3 small sections as I wanted to experiment with flavors. I added mini chocolate chips to one small ball of dough. Then rolled it out and used my biscuit cutter to cut them out. Then I did one blueberry and one blueberry lemon with the remaining 2 balls. They were all good, but the favorites were chocolate chip and the blueberry lemon. I did not have not have sour cream or yogurt, so I used my powdered buttermilk to make 1/2 cup of liquid in place of the sour cream and milk. Absolutely perfect substitute. Will be making 3 more batches today. Great recipe. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingthetimeaway

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Could not quit eating these scones. Simple recipe, great results. We added Crasins. I will definately make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
These are just extraordinary! So tasty and moist. I make a batch on the weekends (with Craisins), freeze them, and bring one to work every day to have with tea. They really are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
TERRIFIC recipe. Unequaled scones! I have made these many times, always to rave reviews. The sour cream is a magic ingredient that imparts a wonderful tang and moistness. Completely unlike the dense, crumbly specimens at Starbucks or equivalent. Like many others, I reduce the baking powder to 3T with no ill effect, otherwise I taste the BP's bitterness. I also find that a bit more salt is helpful--a heaping 1/8 tsp or a bit less than 1/4 tsp. I skip the egg wash step. Preparation is much easier if you have a food processor. I usually keep some butter in the freezer and roughly cut up the correct amount in tablespoon-sized pieces (refrigerated butter works fine too). I blend the butter and dry ingredients with my Cuisinart's metal blade until well mixed. However, I don't use the Cuisinart for final mixing as I think it tends to overwork the dough. I turn the dry ingredients+butter into a mixing bowl, mix in dried fruit, nuts, or other additions, then add the milk/sour cream mixture. (Hint: Measuring sour cream is a little messy if you use standard measuring cups, so pour the milk into a Pyrex liquid measuring pitcher and then spoon some sour cream to the milk until the level of the milk rises to 3/4 c.) One complaint: this recipe only makes 6 scones in my 8-compartment scone pan. Larger recipe: 2 1/3 c (280 gr) flour, 4T Powder, 1/3 c sugar, 1/4 t salt, 5+ T butter, 2/3 c milk, 1/3 c sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I left the raisins out, but these definitely were the best I'd ever had. Even the Ritz & Fortnum & Mason in London can't compare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
EVERYBODY LOVES!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I've been making these scones for two years now and I get requests from everyone to bring them to tea. This is a fantastic recipe that produces a light scone with nice exterior. I use fresh blueberries in mine instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Fabulous! I will be delivering these for Christmas treats with home made strawberry jam in a few hours. Thank you for the recipe.My family will LOVE them when they wake up! Ann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
These are truly the best scones around. I made them with craisins for a wedding shower, and they received rave reviews - even from the women who already had their own scone recipes! The butter takes a while to work in, so allow plenty of time, but it is absolutely worth it. They also bake up well in miniature versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I just took these out of the oven and WOW! These make Starbuck scones taste like hockey pucks. Followed the recipe exactly and they were light, delicate, just perfect. I just dried cranberries instead of currants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 483) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States