World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Delicious scone recipe- I followed it exactly and they came out moist, light, and flavorful. Definitely don't mix the dough to much as the instructions say that makes the scones tough. I baked mine the first time just touching as the instructions did and they came out as one giant scone that i had to break apart. The second time i kept them an inch apart and that worked better. I'm so glad I lost my other scone recipe our i never would have found this amazing one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
So i tried this recipe. I only made half the serving and used chocolate chips instead of raisins because that's the only thing I have. I also used powdered dry chocolate milk again because that was all I had. Otherwise, followed the recipe measurements. It was awesome!!!! Eating them now with cream cheese and worrying if I'll spoil myself for dinner. Thumbs up!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
My first and best attempt at scones and they were wonderful! The whole bach was gone in literally 4 minutes! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janccd
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I've made this recipe twice now and I followed it exactly! These are the most delicious scones I've ever eaten or made! I agree with some other reviewers that the less your work the dough, the more tender the scones will be. Instead of greasing the cookie sheet, I used parchment paper and I like that as the scones don't have a grease layer on the bottom. Also, I used a cookie dough scoop instead of handling the dough to make them into balls. The cookie scoop worked wonderfully! I just dipped it in flour before each scoop! It made the scones a nice size; not too big! All in all, this recipe is super delicious and I thank "FRIENDLYFOOD" for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janccd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I have made this MANY times and it goes over like gangbusters every time. It's a definite quick and easy way o please morning or afternoon guests and your family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I love these scones!!!! They're amazing! My one caveat is i usually need to add a bit more milk- more like 2/3 to 3/4 of a cup. They always turn out amazing and everybody asks for the recipe! Delicious with 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut flakes and 1/2 tsp coconut extract instead of currants. Or cut back on the sugar and add cracked black pepper and grated parmesan (you'll definitely need more milk then). Or add zest of a lemon and 1/2 cup frozen blueberries or raspberries. Or just add 1 tsp vanilla bean paste and no other add ins. SO GOOD!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nanc
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Don't bother looking for another recipe! Perfect! Made with cream instead of milk and put dried cranberries and orange zest! Think you are in /Scotland! I've never been there better than the Irish ones
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sophia
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
The best scone recipe I've ever tried! I used soft, dried cranberries and chopped them into smaller pieces. I added the cranberries to the wet mixture before adding it the dry mixture. After using the egg wash I sprinkled regular sugar on the top of a very crunchy sweet top. I did taste a bit of the baking powder so I will try using a little less next time. All in all, great! I can't wait to try some of the other combinations that have been suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I have baked this with Greek yogurt instead of sour cream and fresh cranberries, which taste-wise turned out fantastic. I only wish they would turn out a bit more upright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Love this recipe. I have used scone box mixes and loved the King Arthur mixes, but decided to try to make them from scratch and selected this recipe from the internet search. I selected this recipe due to the ingredient of sour cream, which intrigued me. I very glad I did. I love the lightness of the scone and the taste as well. I found the recipe to be easy and fast. Eaten with my homemade clotted cream was just the perfect touch to a perfect scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States