World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Made these for St. Patricks day for work. Used craisins and white chocolate chips instead of raisins. Doubled the recipe and still all were gone within 1/2 hour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Best I've ever made. Only I'd make double the recipe the 1st batch was too small amount and went like hotcakes !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Anne Svadjian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I gave it 3 stars for taste but the texture was much too cake like to be called a scone. I knew the recipe was off when I noticed that the dough was much too moist. The other thing was I noticed that there was baking powder in the recipe instead of baking soda. Baking soda is much more traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I just baked these OMG they are the best scones I added blueberries to mine and it was just perfect and it was my first time baking scones thanks for sharing your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny Yefima

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I use this site for new recipes... or to make something I've tried at a restaurant etc, to make on my own. A couple of weeks ago we visited my father in law. While looking for something for breakfast I found 4 scones carefully wrapped in saran wrap. He buys his bread and such at a local German bakery. Yes, a German bakery has scones! Anyways... I placed one in the toaster oven, it was a wonderful Cranberry Scone! It made me crave scones... I found this recipe after looking through several and for a novice scone baker they turned out WONDERFUL! The first batch I made turned out to be plain scones because I was being SO careful to not overwork the dough I forgot the raisins! (currants are hard to find here) I was forced(?) to make a second batch, esp after the plain ones were so good! The second batch was fantastic also! They are bit thinner than what I'm used to. That may be something I'm doing, maybe rolling them out to far? I had a problem with the cranberry batch last week, they seemed dry to me... but my daughter in law said she enjoyed them! Any idea? We love this recipe and other than the one of 4 batches they are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Was really in the mood for scones this morning. No buttermilk, no cream for my usual recipes but....I did have sour cream! Found this Scottish scone recipe and gave it a shot! Followed the recipe exactly with just the addition of some maple syrup. Oh my....these were so light and yummy. Can't wait to try this recipe for savoury scones! They would be terrific with the homemade soups we love during the winter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Stirling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Gotta give it a 5. It's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tigrezebra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Farzana Afroze Urmi
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Oh my god.. i never write review but i had to for this one... it was soooooo easy and sooo good.. i followed the intstruction fully.. only change i made was baking powder. as many ppl suggested to påut 3 tea spoon so i used three. also i didnt have sour cream so i used thick yogurt.. but these were sooo crispy outside moist and flacky inside. loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Makes great scones!I do recommend using very cold butter (I get the butter out of the freezer just before I start working. I start with cubed butter, cut that in with a pastry knife and then work it with my hands for a minute. I have done several variations with this recipe. The favorite, so far is white chocolate chip lemon lavender scones. Muddle the sugar with 1 teaspoon of lavender. Switch currents with white chocolate chips, add the zest of one lemon and two teaspoons of lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shirley George
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I usually do not leave a review but i just had to this time. As a professional baker, i have tried several scone recipes but none came as fantastic as these ones. Simply delicious, moist on the inside and a nice crust on the outside. This will be the recipe i will use from now onwards. I made two changes. Used 3 teaspoons of baking powder and replaced sour cream with buttermilk because i had none. Will get some from the store the next time. My husband and son loves these scones. Thank you so much for sharing this great recipe. Cheers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley George

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States