World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Hands down the best scones I have ever made. Better than my culinary school recipes. I reduced the b.p. by 1 tsp. The trick to scones is not to over mix the dough. After you "rub" the butter into the dry ingredients , place the bowl in the freezer for a few minutes to re-solidify the butter. Add the wet to the dry and mix just until combined. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
590 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Camden, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I made serveral batches of these for a holiday tea. I found that freezing the butter and grating it into the flour mixture was easier than using a pastry blender with soft butter and the result was just as delicious. This is a terrific recipe for scones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
535 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
It's all in the texture and what you add to the final dough- maybe some mixed berries and white chocolate chunks! And after eggwashing the tops prior to baking try sprinkling a generous amount of coarse sugar. Or if you want to go savory, try some herbs and small cubes of a nice cheese- say chopped chives, bit of basil and oregano and chunks of gouda or edam. Instead of the sugar topping obviously something like some shredded cheese or sesame seeds would be more appropriate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
379 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
These scones really ARE the best scones I've ever had, and I used to be a professional pastry chef. I made a few minor changes to adjust them to what I was looking for- I added vanilla, substituted white and semi-sweet chocolate chips for the currants, and left off the egg wash. And I just pulled the dough apart into 8 pieces (the way I used to at the bakery) and baked them that way, without shaping them. After they came out of the oven, I drizzled them with a vanilla/confectioner's sugar icing. Thy were very sweet this way, but just what I was looking for. The sour cream gave them a great flavor and texture,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Truly delicious scones! Only my 2nd attempt to make them (first attempt was 20 years ago and not very successful). These turned out great but were not exactly like the submitted recipe. I had recently eaten an orange cranberry scone at a Fresh Market and loved it and was trying to duplicate the flavor. These are even better! My changes included subbing orange Craisins and adding 1 1/2 tsp. orange zest, lite sour cream, fat-free evaporated milk (for richness), and omitting the egg wash. They were so soft that I dropped them - 12 - onto a parchment lined baking sheet and sprinkled them with natural sugar crystals. Fabulous! They were full of flavor, not heavy, and crunchy on the outside. My husband tasted them and has requested one with his lunch today (his first scone). Next tiime, I will make 24 smaller scones and share them with friends. This is not scone country so they will be a novelty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joanna, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Wow! I just tried this recipe based on the rave reviews and it is by far the best scone recipe I have EVER had! (and I'm not just saying that because I baked them. :) ).... Restaurant or home, these are the best I've tasted. And TRUST me. I've had many. At tea shops and at home. I've tried TONS of recipes and this IS the best. This recipe is amazing! It is foolproof unless? perhaps you are a really inexperienced baker? These were AWESOME! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Fantastic!! I got hooked on Starbuck's scones and these are better (and cheaper)!! I made this the first time exactly as the recipe said, wonderful, Secondtime I used orange essence dried cranberries and orange zest with an orange glaze. I recommend this recipe very highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
This scones were the BEST! One reviewer commented not used to scones being "light and fluffy" like these. Lots of bad scones are hard and dense! I'm a beginner baker and my first scones usually were! ha ha. These were great, perfect, I've been to London numerous times and these remind me of the scones we had in some nice hotels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
A little too sweet, which is why I didn't give them five stars. But a great basic recipe that's easy to adjust. I've used plain yogurt instead of the sour cream and buttermilk instead of the milk. You can also cut back on the butter to about 3 tablespoons and they still taste delicious. To avoid overworking the dough, I just put it in a cast iron skillet, cut it into wedges and bake it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
These are absolutely wonderful and easy to make! I brushed the tops with egg and sprinkled lightly with fine sugar before baking~delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States