World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
These were good, but maybe a little too light. We had scones all over England and Scotland and by far the best ones we had were a denser, slightly drier recipe that we just haven't been able to replicate. That certainly isn't this recipe's fault, but we consider those our gold standard of what a scone should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Awesome...not dry at all. Probably needed a little more sugar or maybe I should've sprinkled with sugar after baking. I think its a matter of which fruit i put in though. I didn't use any dried fuits, instead, I used blueberries and lemon zest (inspired by the lemon blueberry scones - AR). My husband likes it packed evenly with blueberries because he didn't care too much for the bread part. All in all, it was good. Oh, one last note, I was getting afraid that the bottoms were starting to turn dark brown really fast while waiting for the tops to turn at least golden brown, but right when a hint of golden turned out, I pulled it out of the oven and quickly transferred it to a cooling rack. You know what, I like the crispness from the bottoms...yum! I didn't have that burnt taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I used this recipe to replace an old scone recipe and then asked my Afternoon Tea customers what they thought. EXCELLENT scones they all said and I must agree. Now I am embarrassed that I used the other recipe for soo long!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I live in England and have real scones all the time, and this is an excellent recipe true to the delicious British Scones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
These were very good. I did not have sour cream so I used Greek vanilla yogurt because that's all I had. Very good!!! I think I will do again and make with buttermilk and herbs for dinner. Thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NBSmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KAN
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
The only thing I knew about scones was that it was a sort of dessert shaped like a pizza slice. Because of this recipe and its many positive reviews, I studied my scones before trying out this recipe for myself. (-: Turns out that scones are a type of BREAD that can be in various shapes: round, like a biscuit, square, or a triangle and either lightly sweetened as a dessert or savory. After studying the facts, I pulled out my ingredients and worked through this recipe without any changes except for two things: I switched currants for some frozen strawberries and blueberries, and I froze my flour mixture for up to five minutes after rubbing in the butter. Since this was my first time making scones, I worried that I'd overmix the dough. So I purposely left large clumps of dough only slightly moistened. Unexpectedly, the scones turned out fluffy! After having my first bite, I was smiling. This, my friend, was delicious. I doubt I'll be able to find a recipe as easy and good as this one, right here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I made these with 3/4 cup whole wheat flour, yogurt instead of sour cream, and no egg on top (I didn't have any, so I just brushed it with milk instead). Next time I'll definitely go with all white flour - the scones were WONDERFUL but the texture just wasn't authentic with the wheat flour. The yogurt substitution was great, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This is the best scone recipe ever. I put some dried cranberries as well as raisins. Outstanding. I won't make any other again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marlee
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Winning recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
These scones not only look great but taste great. To the reviewer who complained about the baking powder "taste" perhaps you did not measure correctly. I did not find this to be a problem. I have been searching for a good scone recipe for a long time and this one fits the bill. The sour cream gives them a nice texture, not dry the way some scones taste. I 've made this a number of times and they are always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 481) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States