World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
EVERYBODY LOVES!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I've been making these scones for two years now and I get requests from everyone to bring them to tea. This is a fantastic recipe that produces a light scone with nice exterior. I use fresh blueberries in mine instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Fabulous! I will be delivering these for Christmas treats with home made strawberry jam in a few hours. Thank you for the recipe.My family will LOVE them when they wake up! Ann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
These are truly the best scones around. I made them with craisins for a wedding shower, and they received rave reviews - even from the women who already had their own scone recipes! The butter takes a while to work in, so allow plenty of time, but it is absolutely worth it. They also bake up well in miniature versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I just took these out of the oven and WOW! These make Starbuck scones taste like hockey pucks. Followed the recipe exactly and they were light, delicate, just perfect. I just dried cranberries instead of currants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
why anyone would buy scones when they could make these is beyond me. For years I've been looking for a good recipe and finally found one. Have made these numerous times and everyone raves about them. They are easy to make and have a lightness that most scones do not have. I've tasted some that were hard as rocks. Thanks so much for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IamMiaka
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Exceptional! I used fresh raspberries and white chocolate chunks instead of the currants, and sprinkled some coarse sugar on top after the egg wash. Amazing! I can't wait to try other ingredients. I followed other reviewer's suggestions and put the dry mix/butter mixture in the freezer for 10 minutes or so till the butter hardened and it was super easy to rub it between my fingers and mix it into the dry mixture. Pretty quick and simple to make as well. Thank you for sharing this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
These were good, but maybe a little too light. We had scones all over England and Scotland and by far the best ones we had were a denser, slightly drier recipe that we just haven't been able to replicate. That certainly isn't this recipe's fault, but we consider those our gold standard of what a scone should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Awesome...not dry at all. Probably needed a little more sugar or maybe I should've sprinkled with sugar after baking. I think its a matter of which fruit i put in though. I didn't use any dried fuits, instead, I used blueberries and lemon zest (inspired by the lemon blueberry scones - AR). My husband likes it packed evenly with blueberries because he didn't care too much for the bread part. All in all, it was good. Oh, one last note, I was getting afraid that the bottoms were starting to turn dark brown really fast while waiting for the tops to turn at least golden brown, but right when a hint of golden turned out, I pulled it out of the oven and quickly transferred it to a cooling rack. You know what, I like the crispness from the bottoms...yum! I didn't have that burnt taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I used this recipe to replace an old scone recipe and then asked my Afternoon Tea customers what they thought. EXCELLENT scones they all said and I must agree. Now I am embarrassed that I used the other recipe for soo long!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States