World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Delicious! Didn't have sour cream, but I did have plain greek yogurt, which seems to have worked fine. Patted the dough into a circle and scored into 8 wedges. Baked almost 20 minutes. Wonderful plain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Added my own mix ins. Don't put that close together on pan, they can be about 1/2 inch apart?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
These were fabulous. first time making homemade scones. I must say much fluffier then even the coffee shops. my boys thought they were buscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
SO GOOD! Just took these out of the oven and they are the tastiest things ever. I didn't have any baking powder so I added half the amount of baking soda and they turned out delicious still. Def. going to make these again. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Super easy and delicious. I added Craisins and white chocolate chips instead of currants. Also, I skipped the egg wash and just brushed tops w/ milk and sprinkled on a little sugar. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
These scones were absolutely fabulous. I divided the dough into 3 small sections as I wanted to experiment with flavors. I added mini chocolate chips to one small ball of dough. Then rolled it out and used my biscuit cutter to cut them out. Then I did one blueberry and one blueberry lemon with the remaining 2 balls. They were all good, but the favorites were chocolate chip and the blueberry lemon. I did not have not have sour cream or yogurt, so I used my powdered buttermilk to make 1/2 cup of liquid in place of the sour cream and milk. Absolutely perfect substitute. Will be making 3 more batches today. Great recipe. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingthetimeaway

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Could not quit eating these scones. Simple recipe, great results. We added Crasins. I will definately make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
These are just extraordinary! So tasty and moist. I make a batch on the weekends (with Craisins), freeze them, and bring one to work every day to have with tea. They really are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
TERRIFIC recipe. Unequaled scones! I have made these many times, always to rave reviews. The sour cream is a magic ingredient that imparts a wonderful tang and moistness. Completely unlike the dense, crumbly specimens at Starbucks or equivalent. Like many others, I reduce the baking powder to 3T with no ill effect, otherwise I taste the BP's bitterness. I also find that a bit more salt is helpful--a heaping 1/8 tsp or a bit less than 1/4 tsp. I skip the egg wash step. Preparation is much easier if you have a food processor. I usually keep some butter in the freezer and roughly cut up the correct amount in tablespoon-sized pieces (refrigerated butter works fine too). I blend the butter and dry ingredients with my Cuisinart's metal blade until well mixed. However, I don't use the Cuisinart for final mixing as I think it tends to overwork the dough. I turn the dry ingredients+butter into a mixing bowl, mix in dried fruit, nuts, or other additions, then add the milk/sour cream mixture. (Hint: Measuring sour cream is a little messy if you use standard measuring cups, so pour the milk into a Pyrex liquid measuring pitcher and then spoon some sour cream to the milk until the level of the milk rises to 3/4 c.) One complaint: this recipe only makes 6 scones in my 8-compartment scone pan. Larger recipe: 2 1/3 c (280 gr) flour, 4T Powder, 1/3 c sugar, 1/4 t salt, 5+ T butter, 2/3 c milk, 1/3 c sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I left the raisins out, but these definitely were the best I'd ever had. Even the Ritz & Fortnum & Mason in London can't compare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States