World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
My first and best attempt at scones and they were wonderful! The whole bach was gone in literally 4 minutes! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janccd
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I've made this recipe twice now and I followed it exactly! These are the most delicious scones I've ever eaten or made! I agree with some other reviewers that the less your work the dough, the more tender the scones will be. Instead of greasing the cookie sheet, I used parchment paper and I like that as the scones don't have a grease layer on the bottom. Also, I used a cookie dough scoop instead of handling the dough to make them into balls. The cookie scoop worked wonderfully! I just dipped it in flour before each scoop! It made the scones a nice size; not too big! All in all, this recipe is super delicious and I thank "FRIENDLYFOOD" for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janccd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I have made this MANY times and it goes over like gangbusters every time. It's a definite quick and easy way o please morning or afternoon guests and your family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I love these scones!!!! They're amazing! My one caveat is i usually need to add a bit more milk- more like 2/3 to 3/4 of a cup. They always turn out amazing and everybody asks for the recipe! Delicious with 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut flakes and 1/2 tsp coconut extract instead of currants. Or cut back on the sugar and add cracked black pepper and grated parmesan (you'll definitely need more milk then). Or add zest of a lemon and 1/2 cup frozen blueberries or raspberries. Or just add 1 tsp vanilla bean paste and no other add ins. SO GOOD!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nanc
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Don't bother looking for another recipe! Perfect! Made with cream instead of milk and put dried cranberries and orange zest! Think you are in /Scotland! I've never been there better than the Irish ones
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sophia
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
The best scone recipe I've ever tried! I used soft, dried cranberries and chopped them into smaller pieces. I added the cranberries to the wet mixture before adding it the dry mixture. After using the egg wash I sprinkled regular sugar on the top of a very crunchy sweet top. I did taste a bit of the baking powder so I will try using a little less next time. All in all, great! I can't wait to try some of the other combinations that have been suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I have baked this with Greek yogurt instead of sour cream and fresh cranberries, which taste-wise turned out fantastic. I only wish they would turn out a bit more upright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Love this recipe. I have used scone box mixes and loved the King Arthur mixes, but decided to try to make them from scratch and selected this recipe from the internet search. I selected this recipe due to the ingredient of sour cream, which intrigued me. I very glad I did. I love the lightness of the scone and the taste as well. I found the recipe to be easy and fast. Eaten with my homemade clotted cream was just the perfect touch to a perfect scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
BEST EVER!! AGREED by everyone I served them to. I added 1/2 c. halved dried cranberries and drizzled powdered sugar icing with grated orange zest and vanilla added to taste. YUMMY!! Easy too. Just know that super crumbly is ok as you press them gently together. They will hold together after they are baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
this recipe is great! i love scones and have scoured for recipes. this one rocks! i've tried them with nuts, raisins - it works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 477) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States