World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Followed the recipe to the tee, and they turned out AMAZING. Oh, I lied, instead of raisins, I used chocolate chips. So that was different. But the dough...the scone part of the scones, regardless of raisins or chocolate chips...the dough was perfect. It created the right kind of density and mmmm. Om nom nom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryann_recipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I absolutely love this recipe! The only item I change is that I use fresh blueberries or raspberries. My friends and family rave about them. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I am not a baker and was a little worried but WOW these are delicious. I doubled the recipe and made 3 kinds plain, semi-sweet chocolate chip, and dried cranberry with pecans. They were all great! The only thing I changed was I froze the butter and used the shredder. This was a tip from another review and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
These were great. We like cranberries better than raisins so used them instead. Also topped with tubinado sugar--to give it that bakery look. Used white wheat flour for the first time, my husband even loved them --and he used to not like scones! Great recipe....oh--the overmixing comes in after you add the liquid... It's pretty hard to overmix the dry ingredients with the butter as long as your butter is cold, NOT soft...so I wouldn't take the time to grate the butter for those of you who haven't baked alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I was searching for a scones recipe after having them at Disney World's breakfast buffet-Boma! These turned out just as good as theirs! I made them the first time exactly as the recipe says and that is where my 5 star rating comes from. The second time I used white whole wheat and instead of currents I did 1/2 cup fresh blueberries. I also added 1 tsp vanilla to the milk/sour cream mix. It never formed into a ball (assuming because of the wheat) so I added 3 tablspoons of orange juice and that did the trick. They were delicious! If you want to whip something togeher last minute these will not let you down. I served with whipped cream cheese when my friends came over last minute for tea =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladiebuglane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Seneca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
They were light and fluffy like a cake, but did not meet my expectation for a scone. They baked properly and it's good food for something else, but not a scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I wanted some scones that were more British than American, and this recipe absolutely hit the spot! They were a big hit with my friends, who remarked 'Wow, and I don't even like scones!' I took the advice of other commenters and grated the butter (to handle it less) and also refrigerated the mixture between portions of the recipe. I also added a handful of frozen blueberries, and they were pop-in-your-mouth delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Feb 21, 2011 Delicious, I used whole wheat flour and added blueberries. Baked it in a 9x9 cake pan then sliced it when cooled. I did not put the egg topping on. Deb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sechelt, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I am English (now live in Canada) and have eaten a fair amount of scones in my time from varying establishments throughout the UK, the best IMO being from Cornwall, served at high tea. These don't really resemble a traditional British scone, but they were very nice indeed. My Canadian husband loved them - he called them tea biscuits. They were not what I'd describe as a biscuit as they were soft and fluffy - a biscuit is crunchy! I am not sure that the recipe called for enough butter and I would use a further 2 tablespoons and next time I would also use salted and not unsalted butter, however I will certainly be saving this recipe and using again - thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen1203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
These were ok, but the texture wasn't what I had expected. They turned out too light and fluffy - like a biscuit. I was hoping for something more a little more dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States