World's Best Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
Excellent base, but here's how you make this world famous soup!!!!!!! First sautee your onions and your celery. Second, I added some green onion, and garlic. Before adding water, season it with salt, pepper, thyme, and parsley. Then a little dousing (1/4 to 1/2 cup) of white wine (chardoney) never hurt anybody. Do this before the water is added too. To thicken add a roux or substitue heavy whipping cream. Also, throw in some fresh sliced mushrooms (1/2 cup or so) to really get some great flavor going on. I threw in shredded swiss the chedder for a little more depth and it worked. Really worth keeping, the most effort was in the chopping of vegatables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
499 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
AWESOME soup! I followed a few suggestions from the reviews and had the BEST soup the other night! This will become a regular for us. I suteed the onion & celery with mushrooms, salt, pepper, thyme, & parsley in butter. This smelled wonderful. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly. This made enough soup to fill my 6 qt roaster to the TOP! So start with a LARGE pot. A+ recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Lemrise Just

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
W-O-N-D-E-R-F-U-L-!!! I took this potato soup to a pot-luck at work and everyone said it was the best potato soup they had ever had. I cooked my onion and celery in with the bacon and left the extra bacon grease in the soup pot! Very fattening, but tasty! I also used Campbell's Cream of Mushroom Soup with Roasted Garlic and added a couple of dashes of Mrs. Dash onion and herb. Great recipe! Will definitely be using this one over and over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHYB_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Excellent! The ingredient list is spot on. I sauted the onion and celery in a little butter and added some black pepper. Used 3 parts chicken broth to 1 part water to make sure it didn't taste like chicken soup. Have used heavy cream & half & half, they're both equally as good. Put the bacon in with the potatoes so the flavor sinks in. So many wonderful flavors, my step-son who doesn't 'do' soup said it was the best he's ever had and loves it! I add garlic to most things but wouldn't for this recipe, thanks! All my other inferior potato soup recipes are getting deleted from my box :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This was a great recipe to start with. I peeled my potatoes, then I fried the bacon and set it aside. I sauted the onions and celery in the bacon grease, then drained the grease off. After boiling the potatoes, onions and celery, I removed about 1/3 of the water. It seemed like it was going to be too thin for my taste. After combining all other ingredients, I simmered for another few minutes, then let it stand on the stove, covered. It thickened up really well and was wonderful with bread. Everyone loved this soup, and I will definately be making it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This was very good. I scaled down to 4 servings and used cream of celery soup on place of cream of mushroom. Added some shredded cheese and chives when served. Next time I will peel the potatoes (didn't like the peel coming off while eating) and try ground sage sausage. *update* I've make this again and added dried thyme, parsley and garlic to give more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
This soup is awesome! My husband is taking it to work with him for several days now. He called me at home just to tell me again that it "rocks". It made a lot but we like it reheated even better. The only thing I would alter is if it looks like you have a lot of water left after you are done boiling the potatoes and celery and onions, I would take out about a cup or two of water and then add the other ingredients. It will make it a little more creamy. But it was great just like it was. I just prefer creamier soup. I also topped it with sliced green onions. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Saute the onions and celery first ... AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
why would anyone tell you to change this recipe, its perfect just the way you have it now. I can never understand why people try to tell you how they like their recipe better. This is a rating section and thats what I am doing .... A BIG THUMBS UP on this the BEST BAKED POTATO SOUP we have ever had. Thanks for sharing it with us !!! 5 stars to you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This is a great recipe!! I'd never made homemade soup before and this was a very easy one to start with. I added a little more cheese and less bacon. My kids LOVE it and want it at least once a month. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States