World's Best Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Excellent! The ingredient list is spot on. I sauted the onion and celery in a little butter and added some black pepper. Used 3 parts chicken broth to 1 part water to make sure it didn't taste like chicken soup. Have used heavy cream & half & half, they're both equally as good. Put the bacon in with the potatoes so the flavor sinks in. So many wonderful flavors, my step-son who doesn't 'do' soup said it was the best he's ever had and loves it! I add garlic to most things but wouldn't for this recipe, thanks! All my other inferior potato soup recipes are getting deleted from my box :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Because I don't eat MSG, I had to change a few things...put the veggies and the potatoes in broth to boil, homemade a cream of mushroom by sauteeing the mushrooms and onions, making a roux, then adding heavy cream. Also used ham because it was on clearance, very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara P

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Wiscasset, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
OUTSTANDING!!! Gonna add clams this time and make it clam chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Placerville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
If I had 10 stars I would give them! Loved It. Only substituted one thing and that was the half and half for whipping cream. I was leary of the cream of mushroom soup but added it anyway and it was awesome. This also the perfect base for New England Clam Chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I thought this soup was VERY easy to make and quite tasty. I did add a few red pepper flakes. I also used the lower sodium bacon. And I did follow the advice of others and I sauteed the onions and celery with a little bit of the leftover bacon grease. Yummo! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ledbetters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
why would anyone tell you to change this recipe, its perfect just the way you have it now. I can never understand why people try to tell you how they like their recipe better. This is a rating section and thats what I am doing .... A BIG THUMBS UP on this the BEST BAKED POTATO SOUP we have ever had. Thanks for sharing it with us !!! 5 stars to you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This probably is the ultimate potato soup. But I'm not a potato soup fan. I made it to please the crowd at a soup contest at my sister's house. It was complimented but didn't win.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This is the best potato soup! Total comfort food. I skip the celery-(not a fan). I have tried this soup with various cheeses and it's always a winner! I cheat and use the pre-shredded cheese in a bag to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Delicious!Used cream of celery instead of cream of mushroom, added some instante mashed potatoes to make thicken and topped with the bacon. WILL MAKE AGAIN!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
AMAZING RECIPE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The best potato soup ever! its so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States