World's Best Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Made the soup for dinner tonight and while the prep took some time, it tasted amazing! The recipe was very easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
i made it and i added the thyme and garlic also only use green onion had no celery .. but never missed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This was the best potato soup I have ever eaten!!!!! Try it!!! You'll not regret it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Goodness, that's this soup. I left out the canned soup and added powder bullion instead, also used the new potatoes so I left the skins on. My only complaint was that I didn't make enough, it will be a regular in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Kearns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This can be done by adding mushrooms and thickening it with potatoes being mashed a little or a roux. Seasoning - salt, pepper, garlic powder, or whatever you might want to enhance it. This is bland as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I used heavy cream, I didn't have half&half and I peeled the potatoes , I don't like the skin. It was easy to make and quick. We liked it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Better off making it from scratch. This tasted like the can it came out of :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kings Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
It really was wonderful. I never salt anything (medical reasons) and this for me was pucker up salty. I would make it again for the rest of the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I love the idea of this soup, but could not bring myself to make it as written. Six bouillon cubes would make this waaayyyy too salty and not add much to the overall flavor. Instead, I used low sodium chicken broth in place of the water called for and NO bouillon cubes at all. As for the onions and celery, to create a more complex flavor, I sauteed them in a little bit of extra virgin olive oil (and added 2 cloves fresh, minced garlic), then added the potatoes and continued on with the recipe as written. To lighten this up, I often add whole milk in place of the half and half. I have also done a roux to thicken it, using skim milk. I also often add fresh, sliced mushrooms and on occasion, whole, sweet kernel corn for just a slightly different taste and texture to the potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
yes I added shrimp to this recipe/the family loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States