World's Best Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This recipe is definitely a winner for me!! Of course everyone thinks they can make your recipe better. I did take a few suggestions though. i sauted my red onion, celery and fresh mushrooms that i added in the bacon fat while the potatoes and boullion started cooking besides that i followed the recipe. i for got to add the cheese at first and i though it was delicious. after i added the cheese i alomst wish i would have omitted it. it was still very good but the sharpness of the cheese agve it bite. This is the second time ive made this and i will be making it again. Great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefBrad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I have tried many potato soup recipes and liked them all, but this one was really the best ever! My husband loved it. I sauted celery, green onion and a clove of minced garlic in a little butter and sprinkled on salt, pepper, thyme, and parsley as others suggested. I used the same large nonstick skillet/wok to add in the potatoes (peeled) and brown them a little bit, as I have another recipe that has you do this and I like having the potatoes slightly browned. I used one packet of the new Knorr homestyle chicken stock concentrate dissolved into 3and a half cups boiling water, was just the right amount of liquid for the recipe size. I also used 4 cheese mexican grated cheese instead of cheddar. I left out the bacon since I don't eat meat and it was still wonderful! I will be making this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I changed it up a little. I used russets, reds, and sweet potatoes, the left over ham from Xmas and pureed half of the soup in the pot to thicken it. I didn't add the cream of mushroom soup. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This is to die for. I peeled the potatos, sauteed the celery and onion and use heavy whipping cream instead of half and half. I also added about a cup of leftover mashed potato but it would be awesome either way. This is fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Knox Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leia
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Very much enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
They weren't lying when they named it the best. I've made this several times and it's always a hit. Tip: if I don't feel like frying up a pound of bacon (or the bacon doesn't make it once it's fried) I'll throw in a 3 oz jar of real bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
The best~! Made it in the crockpot, used sm. thing of evaported milk instead of half and half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This is VERY VERY good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
The original recipe contains WAY TOO MUCH sodium. Instead, buy the healthy choice (Fat Free and less sodium) or just less sodium can of cream of chicken. Also, omit the chicken bouillon. The sodium in the can of cream of chicken is enough seasoning. I also added a little chives or diced scallions for garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
best potato soup i ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States