World's Best Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This recipe is really good. As many of people do, I did change a couple of things. I used Swansons chicken broth instead of boullion cubes and water. I also used 1/2 lb of bacon and used Tillamook shredded mexican cheese instead of all cheddar cheese. I put a couple of dashes of Mrs. Dash garlic and herb in also. Very good. Everyone in the family loved it. I have put this in my recipe box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
this one is very popular in our house! Full of flavor!! I did use Smoked Bacon and added a clove of Garlic! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This soup is AWESOME! I didnt have half and half so I substituted that with milk, and to make up for the thickness, I added a extra can of cream of mushroom soup. This was my first time making a soup, and it was great! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Delicious! I live with my boyfriend and a roommate. They loved it! I tweaked just two things though. I added two cans of cream of mushroom instead of one. Still used half & half. Also while everything was in the pot almost ready, I took a masher and mashed the potatoes slightly so they were not ALL chunks. Gave it a creamy texture with some chunks as well. Very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Great recipe! Didn't use half and half, but otherwise followed the recipe and it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
this soup was very yummy! the only thing i would change next time is reducing the salt. i would suggest using one less buillon cube and also low sodium cream of mushroom. salt can also be added later! with that being said, i will definitely be making this again. Oh, and my boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Great soup, did adjust it a little. I sauteed the celery and onion in a little butter, used evaporated skim milk rather than half and half or cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Fast & yummy is always a winner with me. Very good and filling too. Some changes, saute' the onion in the bacon pan, along with a little fresh garlic. Also, whenever I make a cream soup instead of cream, half & half, or whatever the recipe dictates I use canned milk. I suggest mixing the milk in a bowl with the canned soup before adding to the hot water so it wouldn't have lumps. Didn't have any celery, didn't even miss it. Also, I didn't add the cheese to the pot. Instead I prefer to add the cheese like a garnish on top of the soup in the bowl. I also added a dab of sour cream to my bowl before pouring the soup in. The soup was a little thinner than I prefer, so I mixed a little corn starch with a small amount of milk and added that at the end. This is a great recipe, a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I've tried several different potato soup recipes over the years and I will have to say this is one of the best recipes so far. Also, it was so simple to make without much preparation which is great for our busy family. This one will go to the top of my 'soup' list for sure! And I didn't change or add one thing - you don't need to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
i did not like potato soup until i tried this! i still don't eat anyone else's tater soup! i've taken this to church on many occasions and all i take home is an empty pot! absolutely world's best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIREBRAND95

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States