World's Best Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kaye Lynn
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Thank you for trying my recipe and for your reviews! There is an omission in the recipe I want to correct: there should be 1 tsp. of celery seed added to the dressing. Also, you may increase the amount of corn starch for thicker dressing, and please feel free to adjust the sugar and onion to your taste. Much of the fun of cooking is changing a recipe to make it your own. NEW EDIT: Please disregard the number of servings, this recipe easily feeds 12 people. I forgot to change it from the default when I posted the recipe. Also, "medium" potatoes refers to the size, not type of potato. I ALWAYS use red potatoes for potato salad. Kaye
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
796 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
My boyfriend wanted hamburgers and potato salad for his bday. I decided to make homemade. I've never made it before and was a little nervous. My mom made THE BEST homemade potato salad and I wanted it to be like hers. Everyone in the family always requested her potato salad ALL the time. She passed away in January and unfortunately she never got the opportunity to share her recipe with me. I changed a few things about this recipe. I added 1/2 cup chopped dill pickle, used green onion instead of white, and used red potato's instead of regular. Other than that, everything was the same.(NEW EDIT: must use 2 tsp cornstarch instead of one-it makes the PERFECT consistency). This potato salad was UNBELIEVABLE! I was THRILLED when my boyfriend and my dad said it was even better than mom's! They said she would be so proud of me! I bet she was in the kitchen helping me along. =) Thank you SO much for the recipe...it's just like mom's. I'll cherish it forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
585 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Medic's Wife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This is fabulous! I would second some of the changes that have been recommended (I replaced the onion with 3 green onion bunches, doubled the cornstarch, reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup, and added 1 tsp of celery seed with the mayo and 5 slices of bacon with the celery. And I used half apple cider vinegar, half white vinegar. It's really rich and delicious! I love it. My only original tips would be: (1) don't freak out if the dressing smells really weird while you're cooking it, that's normal and (2) if it's your first time and you're nervous about cooking the potatoes just right, make more than 6 and then while you're dicing them, choose the six with the best consistency and save the rest for mashing or something later. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
400 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This turned out awesome! After reading other reviews I made a few adjustments. First off, people complained that it was too "oniony" so I only used half a walla onion and 3 green onions. People also complained that it was too sweet so I didn't use the entire 1/2 cup sugar, more like 1/3 cup, maybe a tad bit more. I also used two tsp cornstarch and let it cool COMPLETELY before I added the mayo. I used 10 red potatoes instead of russet ones. I also added 4 slices cooked chopped bacon when tossing potatoes with celery and onions. I then added 1/2 cup sweet relish to the dressing before tossing with potatoes. With these modifications this potato salad is to die for! I brought it to a family party and it was gone in a flash. I got told that I was now the new potato salad maker for all get togethers:)THANX FOR THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alytholen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
5 stars with my changes--see notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
YUCK! What a waste of time cooking this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
After trying this recipe I've kept making it. Everytime I take it somewhere I get comments about how good it is. The dressing thickens up nicely once it's been cooled and then refrigerated. I like to make it the night before I take it somewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Well, Kaye... here's another rave review for you. My husband went ga-ga over this, and I truly enjoyed it as well. Of course I made my changes... I used 9 potatoes, had to go with 3 bunches scallions (hubs won't eat raw onion), added 5 diced sweet gherkins, 1 tsp. celery seed, pepper, garlic powder and dry mustard mixed into the dressing mix. I did not use the prepared mustard. Additionally, as others have already said, you really do need to double the cornstarch. I would not hesitate to serve this at a get together, and thanks for the recipe. Actually, my rating is 41/2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
i have only tried to make potato salad 1 other time....and i have tasted few but i will tell you what this is the world's best and they mean it....kaye thank u so much for sharing....this is absolutely worth every minute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
This is my first time using sugar in potato salad. It wasn't bad, just not real good. The dressing came out runny after boiling for the ten minutes. This probably my fault. If you like a sweet dressing, try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 527) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States