World's Best Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
This is my first time using sugar in potato salad. It wasn't bad, just not real good. The dressing came out runny after boiling for the ten minutes. This probably my fault. If you like a sweet dressing, try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Hubby gave it 4.5, i would have given it 1. Very very rich and sweet. Got better the next day. i'll make this again for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
After trying this recipe I've kept making it. Everytime I take it somewhere I get comments about how good it is. The dressing thickens up nicely once it's been cooled and then refrigerated. I like to make it the night before I take it somewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaye Lynn
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Thank you for trying my recipe and for your reviews! There is an omission in the recipe I want to correct: there should be 1 tsp. of celery seed added to the dressing. Also, you may increase the amount of corn starch for thicker dressing, and please feel free to adjust the sugar and onion to your taste. Much of the fun of cooking is changing a recipe to make it your own. NEW EDIT: Please disregard the number of servings, this recipe easily feeds 12 people. I forgot to change it from the default when I posted the recipe. Also, "medium" potatoes refers to the size, not type of potato. I ALWAYS use red potatoes for potato salad. Kaye
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
813 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I had the heat on by mistake when mixing the egg and sugar, but this recipe still turned out great. The dressing is awesome. But I only used half of it this time, so looks like I'll be making some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
When I made this recipe I thought that there was too much dressing, but as I added it to the potatoes it turned out to be just perfect! This is now my favorite potato salad recipe! The name says it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAINE-MOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This is a great recipe that can be adjusted to your individual tastes easily, for example, I added less sugar and more mustard. The suggestion the author added later about the celery seeds made this potato salad very good and unique. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
Really great! All I did differently was lessen the amount of vinegar, and add more mustard. Classic potato salad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Delicious! Made this for son's birthday bash, there was hardly any leftovers. People loved the flavor. I used only 1/2 the onion, but doubled every thing else to make enough for 15 guests. I also added chopped sweet gherkins as well! Yummy, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
I was scared about cooking the dressing since my potato salad dressing has always been mayo-vinegar-spices (and uncooked!) but I worried for nothing! This salad turned out awesome. I used an extra potato and there was too much dressing when it was first mixed, but I put it in the fridge for several hours and it was just about right when we sat down to eat. My husband enjoyed it, our company enjoyed it, and our daughter would not touch it. Oh, well, that's pretty standard for her. :) I thought it was fab. Thanks, Kaye!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 529) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

A quick and easy, creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States