World's Best Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This is a delicious recipe. We like chopped sweet pickles and celery seed added to ours. I also use Seasoned Salt in mine. The flavor combination of the dressing ingredients is perfect. This is the only potato salad recipe for me. Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
This is a GREAT RECIPE!!!! I tweaked it a little bit, but it is great without adding anything! I added celery seed and crumbled applewood smoked bacon which just made it even more AWESOME. My honey love said and I quote "Definitely the BEST POTATO I HAVE EVER HAD!" Thank you for the recipe and it will be my standard recipe for potato salad for the rest of my life! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I have made this recipe several times and changed it to get the taste I grew up with. My mother and grandmothers made great potato salad. I have no idea what made it so good. I certainly could not recreate it. This is as close as it gets to their recipe. This recipe is now MY recipe. I made a few changes. I don't use as much sugar. I also deleted the onions and added chives. I made it with the evaporated milk and changed it to half and half and whole milk. I use one egg in the dressing mixture. I cannot find Hellmans Mayonaise and use Best Foods...it is as close to Hellmans.. The key to this recipe is serving it chilled. It is creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Love this! Takesa little planning and time to cook sause then cool, but well worth it. I will add one more potato and use slightly less sugar, but the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwich, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Not bad, but a lot of work! In my opinion, way too much sugar, and I love sugar! I even went as far to reduce sugar to 1/4 C and it was still a little too sweet! I also don't like the additional fat, cholesterol content of the butter, milk, and beaten eggs! You already have the addition of 6 hard boiled eggs! I understand that this is necessary for the "secret" sauce, but as the saying goes, "less is more". I will probably stick to the classic Hellman's potato salad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Made for a big party and it was a huge hit!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingupchaos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This makes a lot of potato salad. It was good though and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Made this recipe with the recommended changes and it was a HUGE hit! There was a LOT, so I ended up sending it home with people and they have been requesting it frequently. I am making it again for a party of 50 and can not wait. Might add diced salami or summer sausage this time for a kick. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
My husband swears it's the best potato salad he has ever had. And he's a big fan of potato salad, so that's quite the statement. I just did everything according to recipie and it was delicious, thank you so much for sharing this recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
This was excellent, however I made some changes to suit my family's tastes. As per other reviewers, I decreased the sugar to 2 TBs and increased the cornstarch to 2 TBs. I also cooked 9 potatoes rather than 6 as I don't like my potato (or macaroni) salad "soupy". I used a large bunch of scallions rather than white onion, and also added a finely diced green pepper since I had one I needed to use up. I added about 2-3 TB sweet pickle relish too. I cooked the potatoes, hard boiled eggs and dressing last night, and this morning actually assembled the salad so it had about 8 hours in the fridge, it was really excellent! I can't wait to try it tomorrow to see how much more the flavors developed. My family said it was "very good" and my 24 year old son who RARELY compliments, said "that's GOOD Mom!" that's GOLD right there! I served it with burgers, and chips and hone made guacamole. Excellent! PS I left the skins on the red potatoes too, made it more colorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 524) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States