World's Best Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Removed the "eyes" from the potatoes as I don't like things staring at me when I am eating them. Thought I would give it a try although I have about 30 recipes for salad dressings and mayonnaise and found the amount of sugar was too much and used English mustard powder instead of the sweet yellow stuff. Also, an old chef's trick, return the potatoes to the pan over very low heat, and place a cloth directly onto the potatoes. Leave for about 1 minute to remove any remaining moisture from the potatoes or they stay wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I think it was ok but a little too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I made this today exactly as in the recipe. I didn't like the taste and there was way too much creamy, vinegary, mayonnaisey mixture for the amount of potatoes and eggs. I wound up cooking more potatoes, five pounds in total, and added them to what I had. The proportions were much better and it was edible, but not very good. I'm hoping it will improve with age overnight. I doubt it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This an awesome recipe, perhaps more for the "southern" taste. Reminds me of my mother's which I could never quite duplicate. The addition of celery seed is good, and you can vary the amount of onions, sugar and celery to taste. Deserves a 5 star rating every time. Make a day a head of time and it's even BETTER!! Perfect for potlucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This is so good. I followed recipe except I only added half the sugar. I used 1 1/2 tsp. Of cornstarch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Liverpool, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Good, but too sweet for our taste. The basic recipe was good, but will try again without sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I was hesitant to try this recipe...the 1/2c sugar with egg and cornstarch really threw me for a loop. Alas, I am trying to repclicate the potato salad you can get from Sprout's Farmers Market and this seemed to have alot of the same elements. I think I found a close second with this recipe. My husband and I finished a batch ourselves in 3 days. Not sure how many time we each snuck into fridge for a quick bite though. This salad just calls your name :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by narleycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
pretty decent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA
Living In: La Center, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
It was so good! My mom is a huge fan of potatoes and God she loved this recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This was a fantastic recipe!For years my husband said nothing could ever compare to his mothers potato salad and he said this one blew hers out of the water. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 498) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States