World's Best Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
The reviews could not be any more spot on. My wife makes a mean potato salad that I have requested and eaten for nearly 20 years. I decided to try this recipe and my wife gave me the raised eyebrow look that says "you are kidding right?" I convinced her that I just wanted to step out of my comfort zone and try something new. She saw the ingredients and thought I was crazy. Cranked it out and she like I thought it was truly amazing. Best potato salad I have ever had. We will be sticking to this recipe from now one. We left the skins on the potatoes and added some salt and pepper and it was the hit of the BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LorenWSmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I tried this receipe for a Barbeque and was not impressed. I took the advice of others and added another teaspoon of corn starch and let it cool completely. It was very creamy but was way too sweet. I prefer a potato salad with a little zing to it. I might try this recipe again with a little a less sugar and a little more mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
oustanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This turned out awesome. I read some of the comments before I started so I reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup and increased the cornstarch to 2 tsp like some of the others suggested. I felt so awesome for having made something so super delicious :) We had it with pulled pork sandwiches. All 3 kids and hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This is a delicious recipe. We like chopped sweet pickles and celery seed added to ours. I also use Seasoned Salt in mine. The flavor combination of the dressing ingredients is perfect. This is the only potato salad recipe for me. Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
This is a GREAT RECIPE!!!! I tweaked it a little bit, but it is great without adding anything! I added celery seed and crumbled applewood smoked bacon which just made it even more AWESOME. My honey love said and I quote "Definitely the BEST POTATO I HAVE EVER HAD!" Thank you for the recipe and it will be my standard recipe for potato salad for the rest of my life! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I have made this recipe several times and changed it to get the taste I grew up with. My mother and grandmothers made great potato salad. I have no idea what made it so good. I certainly could not recreate it. This is as close as it gets to their recipe. This recipe is now MY recipe. I made a few changes. I don't use as much sugar. I also deleted the onions and added chives. I made it with the evaporated milk and changed it to half and half and whole milk. I use one egg in the dressing mixture. I cannot find Hellmans Mayonaise and use Best Foods...it is as close to Hellmans.. The key to this recipe is serving it chilled. It is creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Love this! Takesa little planning and time to cook sause then cool, but well worth it. I will add one more potato and use slightly less sugar, but the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwich, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Not bad, but a lot of work! In my opinion, way too much sugar, and I love sugar! I even went as far to reduce sugar to 1/4 C and it was still a little too sweet! I also don't like the additional fat, cholesterol content of the butter, milk, and beaten eggs! You already have the addition of 6 hard boiled eggs! I understand that this is necessary for the "secret" sauce, but as the saying goes, "less is more". I will probably stick to the classic Hellman's potato salad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Made for a big party and it was a huge hit!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingupchaos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 508) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States