World's Best Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I really, really wanted to like this. I felt it had potential, but was just too sweet and almost ordinary tasting considering that you make the sauce from scratch. I even put less sugar in than called for. I ended up mixing in some chopped dill pickles and their juice hoping it would lessen the sweetness and it helped some. This was almost like the stuff you buy at the grocery store, which I was hoping to avoid. I may try to make this again using way, way, way less sugar or none at all, adding dill pickles and using a full 5 pounds of red potatoes and green onions in place of the raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I was a bit of a skeptic on this one when I read it, tried it this weekend, now a HUGE fan. As a rule I usually make your standard mustard style potato salad.Was going to a large family gathering and decided to make three different types, ranch/bacon, my dill mustard standard, and this one. By far my new favorite. Not too sweet or tart just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TNMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
THE VERY` BEST IN THE WORLD! I have been trying to figure out this recipe for years, it's all about the dressing. I have been eating in a small steak house for thirty years and always loved there potato salad. now I finally have the recipe. THANK YOU VERY MUCH! My friends in PG BC Canada will be very happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shane
Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
The sauce....seemed to have the taste and texture of flour, and I used the recipe as written. Wondering instead of milk, maybe could have used sour cream???? Oh, well... Lots of work, for the result. I would rather just use sugar, vinegar, mayo or salad dressing, and mustard. Hopefully remaining in the refrigerator for 8 hours will improve the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Served this over the 4th of July holiday. Even the pickiest potato salad eaters raved. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thom'sWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
We love it ! Its truly the best potatoe salad we have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
By far, the best potato salad I've ever had. I used a few suggestions from other reviewers: Doubled the corn starch to 2 tsp, used 1 tsp ground mustard instead of prepared, and added 1 tsp celery seed. This dressing is amazing. The recipe made lots of dressing; next time, I will throw in a few extra potatoes so that I can have leftovers. (Or, I can hope for leftovers!) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cecefltrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
made this potato salad today and it was fantastic!! after reading reviews made a few changes used only 1/3 cup sugar, added a pound of bacon, used green onions instead of regular onion and seasoned with celery seeds, it was creamy, flavorful and delicious will be my go to potato salad from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Amazing recipe. Do not worry if the sauce looks very weird, just keep at it, it will thicken. Think I am going to add some bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
The reviews could not be any more spot on. My wife makes a mean potato salad that I have requested and eaten for nearly 20 years. I decided to try this recipe and my wife gave me the raised eyebrow look that says "you are kidding right?" I convinced her that I just wanted to step out of my comfort zone and try something new. She saw the ingredients and thought I was crazy. Cranked it out and she like I thought it was truly amazing. Best potato salad I have ever had. We will be sticking to this recipe from now one. We left the skins on the potatoes and added some salt and pepper and it was the hit of the BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LorenWSmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 507) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States