World's Best Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
So good and didn't change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I added a tsp of celery seed as advised from previous reviewers, and substituted yellow mustard for Dijon. Next time I would definitely cut back on the sugar, it was a little too sweet for my liking, but appeased the taste buds of my Southern friends. Great recipe for the books.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emvaller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Hands down, one of the best potato salad I've ever had. The sauce was really perfect. I did what several people suggested and doubled the corn starch. And I added finely chopped bacon. I had cooked bacon in the oven earlier and used it. I put it into the sauce pan first and rendered out some more bacon fat, and them cut back on the butter just a bit. I think it could have used just a touch more onion, and maybe 1 more piece of celery. The recipe is more involved than throwing mayonnaise on boiled potato, but is not difficult and we'll worth effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Lavine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I tried this recipe for Father's Day. It was delicious. I wanted to add bacon to the recipe but my husband doesn't like bacon in potato salad. So we compromised and I crumbled up bacon and put it in a dish on the table and invited those who like bacon to sprinkle it on top. Everyone tried it that way (including my husband) and I think it tasted better than if I had put it in the recipe. This is going to be my "go to" potato salad for all picnics. Including the crumbled bacon sprinkled over the top. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Best potato salad....creamy and delicious! Used only 1/3 c. sugar, be careful w/ the c'starch----use 2 scant t. and use the measuring spoon. Added olive salad and mayo w/o measuring. I omitted the celery seed b/c it wasn't on hand. No eggs either. It didn't seem to need either. Very, very good potato salad! This recipe is a keeper. Wish it wasn't so high in calories, though....the only down side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I love this potato salad just the way it is... THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danial

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Nice! Really good texture and pretty good balance of sweet and tart. I substituted cream for the evaporated milk and left out the hard boiled eggs on the first batch. That bowl was the hit of our dinner party. With eggs is great as well, but too much egg distracts from the overall potato salad feel and flavor. I really couldn't tell much difference in flavor when comparing the batch using ev milk to the one with cream, but our cream batch was a bit lighter on the palate. As a final note, I doubled the batch and added 1/4 tsp of xanthan gum after adding the vinegar to make it extra thick and creamy. This really helps if you use a food processor to dice your onions and celery and have a little of that juice left in the bowl. Overall fantastic stuff here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I love potato salad, just not this recipe. I followed it exactly and found it to be way too sweet. I will give it another chance, but will not put in any sugar. I will probably add more vinegar and mustard. I tried it at three homes with 4 families. The kids didn't like it and neither did the parents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben Coleman Sr

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Yummy Delish!! I caramelized the onion and added lots of chopped bacon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy Bobby

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parkville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This was the best potato salad I have EVER had! I did increase the cornstarch to 2 tsps and decreased the sugar, but it was excellent! Thanks Kaye for sharing this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 528) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

A quick and easy, creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States