World's Best Peanut Butter Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
Ok - for those of you that had trouble with this recipe - try these things: 1) Like many others did, I mixed the flour, peanut butter, and m.creme ahead of time (with a mixer). 2) I used evaporated milk instead of regular milk. 3) I used Swansdown Cake flour instead of regular flour. 4)I used an even cup of marshmallow creme (8 oz). I found out the temperature to cook fudge to is 238 degrees F. - so I did that, using my candy thermometer and didn't go by time. The moment it reached that temp - took more than 5 minutes on medium/medium high heat - I took it off the burner and mixed the rest of the pre-mixed ingredients in. After a LOT of elbow grease with a REALLY sturdy whisk (a square pot whisk) - when everything was blended - I let the mixture cool to about 160 degrees F and whisked with vigor again - before spreading in a glass pan that had been lightly sprayed with butter-flavored Pam. Once in the pan - I used one of those sharp gadgets that you use to hold a tomato with while slicing it (mine's Pampered Chef) - and made a nice grid pattern before it started to harden. Came out perfectly!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
356 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
the best pb fudge recipe I've found. It was so mallow and creamy; not at all dry and crumbly. I took the advice of others and pre-blended the flour, pb, and marshmallow creme. I also added a tsp. of vanilla extract and 1/4 tsp. butter extract to this mixture. I always use a candy thermometer when making fudge. I used the thermometer and set the kitchen timer to 5 minutes and can tell you that the temp only got up to 225 degrees, well below the soft ball stage. One does not want to rely on a soft-ball stage to make this. I realized that this was a different fudge recipe than most with the addition of flour and decided I better only boil for the 5 minutes instead of going for soft ball stage. glad I did, as it turned out perfect. I didn't even refrigerate it; set it on the table for about 1 hour. I always use foil-lined pan sprayed with pam when making fudge; easier to lift out. I just lifted it out of the pan and cut a sliver to try; MALLOW, MALLOW, MALLOW! I did add extra pb, as I had an off-brand and didn't think it tasted very peanuty when I opened the jar.*about 14 oz. of pb used* Thanks for this recipe. can't wait to take it to work tonight for co-workers to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I have never been a peanut butter fudge fan, but this recipe changed that! I have made this recipe a dozen times over the past few years. I get multiple requests from family and friends for batches or recipes! It tastes like peanut butter cookie dough, or the inside of a peanut butter cup - but smoother! I have never had this not set up for me. First, I bring the butter & sugar mixture to a boil using medium heat, stirring frequently. Then I reduce the heat so it won't boil over, and set the timer for a full 5 minutes. I pre-mix the peanut butter & marshmallow creme in my kitchenaid. I use creamy peanut butter and just eyeball it from the jar. I pour the sugar mixture into the mixer bowl and let it sit for 30 seconds or so to help melt the peanut butter/marmallow mix. Then I mix just until combined. Add the flour, and mix just until combined. I tap the mixer bowl on the counter to help release some of the air bubbles. I pour the mixture into a large baking sheet. I let it sit for a minute, then sometimes add a few handfuls of chocolate chips (I prefer milk chocolate with this recipe)on top to melt and spread. Other times I let it cool so I can handle it, take a pinch and roll it and dip it in chocolate for peanut butter balls that taste just like store bought peanut butter cups! Or just eat it plain and it is heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This is my first time making fudge, and it turned out really well. I accidentally poured it into a 8x8 pan, but moved fast enough to scrape it into a 9x13 with no problems with it setting too fast (the top just isn't pretty and smooth). I've tried some already, and it's a great consistency - rich, creamy, firm, but not too crumbly. It cuts well, too. Cooking notes: I followed others' advice and preblended the pb, flour (only used 1/3 cup) and marshmallow. I also used evaproated milk instead of regular. I don't have a candy thermometer, but I let the mix boil for 6 min before adding the pb mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Follow the instructions and measure carefully and you will have great fudge! Be sure to start the 5 minute timing AFTER the mixture comes to a full rolling boil. I also use evaporated milk and unsalted real butter. I have been using this same recipe for many years and my teenage son loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollys Taylor Made Treats

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Attica, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
this is the most awesome pb fudge recipe! i did mix the marshmallow creme, peanut butter and flour ahead of time in a bowl so when the other was finished cooking i could just mix them together and be done... People RAVE over the taste and smoothness of this fudge. i will never use any other recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Fantastic! I haven't made fudge before and this turned out awesome! I changed the preparation though: (1) line 13x9" pan with foil and spray with pam(2) Mix together well in mixer peanut butter and marshmallow cream and set aside (3) Bring to boil over medium heat sugar, butter and milk (I used whole milk) When at a rolling boil set timer (I set it for 5 minutes, 30 seconds) and boil, stirring frequently. Add 1 cup salted roasted peanuts, stir and remove from heat (4) Add hot mixture to mixer containing PB and Marsh creem. Let sit for 30 seconds, add vinilla (1/4 tsp) and flour. Mix just until blended. Pour into prepared pan, after leveling perfectly, sprinkle with milk chocolate (I found choc. chips didn't give good texture, but cut-up milk chocolate candy bar or hurshey kisses were great) Spread softly to create a nice top layer (or bottom layer, whichever you prefer). Fridgerate for 1 hour+. Viola!!! I'd like to thanks many reviewers for these ideas, I combined many of them into this review and it had awesome results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Hansson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
I am giving this five stars, but I would have liked more peanut butter taste (I'm kind of a peanut butter nut). I might try adding more next time and hope that doesn't throw off the whole recipe. I have never made candy before--so here are a few hints for other novices: 1) use a big pot. I started off with a 2 1/2 quart saucepan and it was much too small. I had to dump the boiling mess into a 5 quart pot to prevent it from spilling over. 2) It doesn't seem to need to be stirred when it's boiling. I worried that it would scald, but it didn't. 3) You may want to refrigerate the final product before you cut it into squares; it's pretty soft and wasn't holding its shape as I cut it. 4) I used nonfat (skim) milk and it came out just fine. (I thought it might really need whole milk). Thanks for the great recipe. Even thought I have never made candy before at all, it came out really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by losangeles71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
We loved this fudge. I added a tsp. of peanut butter extract for even more flavor, then while the sugar, milk and butter were cooking I blended the peanut butter, marshmallow cream and flour together with an electric mixer. (I love shortcuts) When I added the hot syrup, I beat it hard for about a minute. This way there was no chance of any residual flour taste. This is a keeper, and not just for the holidays. Thanks for a great recipe! OH!! And this is great with a little chocolate melted or drizzled on top too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I am new to making fudge, but this recipe was fast and easy. I am sure my boyfriend and his family (big PB fans) will love it. Since Peanuts don't typically make handsome garnishes, I put a 5050 mixture of semisweet and milk chocolate chips in a ziplock bag with some shortening, microwaved it, snipped a small part of the corner off and drizzled chocolate over the fudge to make it look nicer. (For chocolate fudge I do the same with white chocolate...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMANDAC322

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States